Purple Stripes

I’ve been meaning to blog this particular topic for some time now. It is my living room, in my new house. I decided, in uniquely Livlife fashion, that I simply couldn’t live life without “something different”. I decided that the something different should be stripes and that they should be done in my favorite color. Purple.

The idea was sparked by Project Runway. In its eighth season, the workroom was decorated in pastel purple stripes. I was instantly transfixed. I spent more time studying the walls than the contestants. I kept thinking…I could do that. When I put in the offer on my house, that whisper became louder and louder until I finally said it aloud. I told my mom, I’m doing random-width purple stripes in my living room.

Huh?

That was pretty much her response. And the response of everyone who heard the idea. I think, that unless you saw the inspiration, the idea was pretty difficult to reconcile in your head. Even those of you reading might be a little worried I’ve gone round the bend. But, when you see it, it is a whole different story.

I ended up deciding that there would be four different colors of purple. Then it was a hunt (seriously, Home Depot and their three different palettes, Ace and their four different palettes, Sherwin Williams and three palettes, and Benjamin Moore) for paint samples. I finally found the four purples of my dreams. Concord Grape. Plummy. Kimono Violet. Vigorous Violet. For the curious, Plummy was the color that started it all. When I saw it, I knew instantly that it was the purple I had been looking for. Concord Grape is then one segment darker on the same sample sheet. They were perfect. I didn’t like the softer colors nearby, so we kept hunting. Eventually, Vigorous Violet popped for me and Kimono is one darker than that. I held the four together and I knew they were the right colors. It was amazing.

They were dark colors, and I knew that, so it influenced my original design. Fortunately, I have a high-vaulted ceiling and a long (20′) wall that would absorb dark colors well. It was clear that this needed a professional touch. Not that I couldn’t do it, but it would be really hard. Plus, the highest peak of the vault is over the staircase and well…that just seemed dumb to attempt it myself. (And by “myself” I mean my mom…obviously).

So, the hunt for painters began. I used a website that I adore called Servicemagic. You simply put in your location and what the job is (anything in home remodeling/repair) and they will connect you to local contractors in your area. They go so far as to have the contractors call YOU so you don’t have to do hardly any work. I loved it. I got four appointments out of it and I set up one on my own.  Five different painters came out to do the estimates.

I won’t bore you with the details, except to tell you this. My dad, upon hearing that I was alone, in my house, having four strangers come to meet me said to my mom, “she’s by herself? Call her every ten minutes.” Cute, right? My mom called once and told me that and I asked her NOT to call me every ten minutes, I would be fine. And I am.

I chose my painter, Jim, during the phone call, before I even met him. When he called me, I just got this gut feeling about him. I knew from his voice, his demeanor, what have you, but I knew. He was the first painter I met with and I liked him even more. I told my mom that he was the one before we met him and then after, she agreed with me. She said there was just something trustworthy about him. He knew his stuff and was so genuinely likeable. But, I know that isn’t why you choose a painter–I needed numbers. After all the estimates were in, his was second lowest.

I didn’t know what to do. So I called Kelly’s husband Mark. Actually, I was talking to Kelly and asked if I could talk to Mark. Mark is someone I know and trust and his opinion means a great deal to me. I know he’s smart and super-professional, so I wanted his opinion. (Not the first time, and I doubt it will be the last). He told me that if I wanted Jim, I should give him the chance to lower his bid. I never even knew that was an option. I followed Mark’s advice and ended up with the painter I wanted at the price I wanted. It was incredible! And Jim actually thanked me for giving him the chance to adjust his bid. (If you’re in the market for a house painter and want a number…let me know. I’ll happily recommend Jim from Moving Presentations!)

So, eventually we got it scheduled and Jim showed up and painted my house. End of story.

Nah…not even close!

What happened was that before he could paint, he needed to know WHAT to paint. I had to design and create a diagram for the crazy stripe wall. I came up with a template and moved color and spacing around. While I wanted it to look random, it couldn’t actually BE random or it would drive me crazy. Jim worked off the template and painted the stripe wall, the staircase wall, the living room and the dining room. He did it all in 1.5 days, by himself. And it wouldn’t have been 1.5 days if he hadn’t had to let it dry overnight to finish the stripes.

Here is my living room the night before Jim came:

IMG_1017

The staircase wall is to the left, the “stripe” wall is the right. I didn’t do “before” shots of the dining room because..well who really cares?

Here is the same shot after night 1:

IMG_1040

Crazy, right? The staircase wall is finished–that is Plummy from floor to ceiling. The stripe wall is 1/2 done. Every other stripe is finished.

Here is a second shot of just the stripe wall:

IMG_1041

I couldn’t quite fit it all in, but that is about 18′ of it.

Here is the final result:

IMG_1044

Incredible, right? I was actually speechless when I saw it for the first time. And if you know me…that’s saying something.

Here’s just the finished stripe wall:

IMG_1043

I tried to get as much of that light streaming in as I could so you could really see the colors, but I am not that good of a photographer. Apparently I should stick to designing stripe patterns, I rock at that.

This is the dining room:

IMG_1042

That wall is directly opposite the stripes. I decided to bring in some purple so the room didn’t look lopsided with bright and dark purples on one end and a soft, pale, gray on the other. The wall color is Sleigh Bells by Benjamin Moore. I then pulled some of the Concord Grape down that way and did just a few touches.

And, lastly, we have the stripes, as viewed from the Maine Lobster kitchen.

IMG_1046

Pretty, right? I know. My house is awesome. Fully of color and whimsy. Just like me!

And, if you stuck it out, you know why I took so long to blog this. It was just a long damn post.

4 thoughts on “Purple Stripes

  1. LOVE the colors! I (ok, Chris) just painted our family room a nice dark shade of red and that’s daring for us. Notice I said US. I think it looks great–so cheerful and so YOU. Enjoy!

    • THANK YOU!!! You’ll have to come see it in person. The purple is just indescribable, the photos don’t do it justice because you don’t get a sense of the height and width.

      I think dark red is daring no matter who you are.

  2. Ok I loved it before I read this but seeing the before pics makes me love it more!! I’ll be calling u when I decide to paint!!

Leave a Reply

