Am I all alone?

I love free stuff.

Adore it.

Am I the only one?

I just can’t be.

Yet, today, I have this sign posted.

It is the first thing you see when you walk in the door to the library.

photo

Only one person has asked. One. And he was a high school student who didn’t go here. His sister goes here and he needed a ride so she picked him up and she needed to print something so they stopped here. (We chatted for a while, this boy and I)

All day long and people are parading in and out the doors.

No one asks.

Do people not want prizes?

7 thoughts on “Am I all alone?

  1. The first thing to come to mind when I read the sign is having to answer a question or do something and for those of us that are shy that isn’t too appealing. I love free stuff but free for me is just that free….no strings attached just sitting there for me to take. Maybe “ask me how you can have a prize” or ” get a prize” but win maybe be too intimidating……that’s my take 🙂

    • Nope, you’re right! I was actually trying to convince them to do something for me. I was giving away a free sucker to anyone who asked, but the reason for getting them to ask was to get them to sign up for an event at the library, for which they actually did get a prize.

      Hmm, next time I’ll rethink this.

  2. I was working at Borders for a while, and the day before my temporary job (suddenly) ended I found out we get free books. Like, pre-released books! I was so excited…. and now I dont have a job. But the point is, I love free stuff too!

    • Yikes! I didn’t even realize….I needed student volunteers to participate in a library event that was yesterday. All volunteers won a prize (a Globe travel mug, a Globe keychain, a Globe lanyard, a ruler/clock/calculator gadget AND the travel mug was filled with candy) but for asking, they got a dum-dum lollipop, even if they didn’t volunteer.

      I thought it was a good incentive….

  3. I have to agree with Sara on this one. It sounds like you’re going to make them listen to a “Time Share” spiel…lol. I would’ve just asked, but that’s me.
    So what happened if someone did ask? What did they have to do to win the prize?

    • Yeah, I see Sara’s point. I didn’t think of it that way. Mostly because of how casual we are in my library. The students all call me by name and they talk to me all the time, so I never thought it would be an issue!

Leave a Reply

