Mystery Package

Do you shop online?

I do. More than I shop in stores. I LOVE online shopping.

I get many packages sent to me (thanks mom, for passing along THAT gene).

Every so often, I can’t remember what is in them. It’s rare, because they come pretty quick, but it does happen. Then, it is exactly like someone sending you a present. There’s interest and excitement when you open up the package.

A couple days ago, I got an email that StuffHut shipped my package.

I have no idea what that is. Never even heard of it. However, I know from my vast online shopping experience that smaller companies often send packages through an intermediary. So StuffHut could be one of those.

But I can’t remember ordering anything that might fit the bill…?

I really have no idea what is coming.

I could do some research and find out, but that would take ALL the fun out of it for me. Right now it is a mystery. A complete and total surprise. I’m guessing whatever is in the package won’t be nearly as good as the anticipation I feel waiting for it.

And can we talk about how much I love package tracking? What a great invention! I know that at 7:27 am this morning, my mystery package from StuffHut was loaded onto a plane in Memphis, TN. Next stop: St. Paul, MN. How cool is that?

Did you know I was once stranded for 6 hours in the Memphis airport all by myself? Completely and utterly alone? The interesting part of that story is, I was 13.

I was on my way to visit my cousin Sara in Alabama. She had just moved there. My parents sent me by myself, my first time on a plane, alone. We were delayed leaving MN and missed our connection in Memphis. The next connection to Birmingham was six hours later. My mom was worried about me and made me call her every hour to tell her I was okay. I also kept calling my Aunt Kate who had made the drive from their house to Birmingham and then just had to sit there and wait. (How far is it from Fayette to Birmingham anyway? It felt like hours on the drive to that house, in the dark….)

Anyway, that was one of the best trips of my life. My favorite song had just come out, “November Rain” by GNR. Sara and I went to Wal-Mart (there wasn’t much to do in that town when you’re 13) and I bought the SINGLE on  CASSETTE. I still have it. I was going to get rid of it, but it has so many memories. We sat up in her room and listened to it over and over and over while we talked and giggled like the teenage girls we were. I think those memories are half the reason that is my favorite song. We also caught fireflies in her backyard. I had never done that before. Her dad, Uncle Frank, got mason jars for us and sat outside talking to us while we ran around catching them. Then we got to put them in her room next to the bed, to use as nightlights that night. And we went to Leah’s house and spent the night, but while we were there we got to ride a four-wheeler which was also the first time I had done that.

Wow. This blog sure took a turn. I was just going to go back and edit it, because it is so weird, the randomness, but I think I’ll leave it. I kind of like how it is just a capture of the thoughts I was thinking as I typed.

I’ll let you know once my mystery package arrives.

2 thoughts on “Mystery Package

  1. OH how I love mystery packages! And I get quite a few…haha .I can’t ever remember what I ordered. I actually received a mystery package yesterday. Only it was addressed to you!
    Yes, your blog was rather random today. I was so worried about you! I am not really sure why we ever consented to that trip! But, it all worked out and you do have fond memories.Just another stepping stone to who you are today.

Leave a Reply

