First Birthday Event

Let’s travel back in time shall we? The first weekend in April we held Arionna’s first birthday. I came over early to help watch the baby while everyone else got ready. (Being the auntie is fun!)

And I wanted time to show Em/Chad the first year video of Ario. It turned out pretty special if you ask me. Weeks and weeks and weeks I worked on it. Not counting the monthly photos I took, faithfully, for the first 12 months of her life.

I was given the responsibility of getting her ready for the party. I gave her a bath (surprisingly, the first one I’d ever given her!) and got her dressed in her special party clothes. I even did her hair, which my sister loved.

photo

She’s not a big fan of sitting still (is any kid at that age?) so I had her Uncle Ryan distract her while I got her pony in.
photo

She was less than pleased after I finished, but she bounced back quickly.

photo

When the guests started arriving, she was a bit overwhelmed. It wasn’t that huge of a party, maybe 30 people, but that is a lot in her little house that only usually has three.

She clammed up and sat in the corner, which is where her buddy Layla found her when she arrived.
photo
photo

My mom with both of her grandkids. Simon is playing with my phone. He’s also shy around too many people, so I gave him the phone and his favorite game (Peg Light) to keep him happy.

photo

Grandma with the birthday girl. (Who was being mildly uncooperative with photos).
photo

Simon with his mama. I love their identical expressions!
photo

Opening her own presents. She only really likes to pull out the tissue. She left the presents for her mom.
photo

Diggin’ in. In her birthday outfit that Grandma bought her months ago. It was too big! (notice the sleeves)

photo

I’m not even sure what’s happening here, but I really like this picture.
photo

Cousins. These two love each other so much!
photo

With her other grandparents.
photo

How many Grandmas does it take to change a baby?
photo

The proud daddy and his little girl.
photo

My mom made the special bunny cake, which is a family tradition. What I love about this picture, though, is how Mom is lighting the candles, Em is filming her, Chad is watching Em film her and the birthday girl is stuck in a corner, alone, being ignored. It cracks me up!
photo

Singing happy birthday.
photo

A girl and her bunny cake.
photo

I don’t think I’ve ever seen a birthday girl as tired as this one…
photo

Later, she shared her cake with her parents.

photo
photo

That just about sums it up, hmm?

Later, while the baby napped. We all went outside to enjoy some rare, early spring sunshine. Ario got bubbles from Simon as a present, which he couldn’t wait to tear into.
photo

photo
photo

Someone was in a much better mood after her nap!
photo

When we all headed back outside, I was carrying Ario. I set her on the hood of my car and Simon climbed right up to “protect” her.
photo

After blowing bubbles for a few minutes and listening to my dad tell me all the reasons why I shouldn’t let kids climb on my 12-year-old car, we decided to get the baby some exercise. She just started walking, on her own, that day!

Simon and Emmy took her for a walk:
photo
photo

Someone really loves the independence that mobility brings.

photo
photo

It was a terrific party. Here’s to a fantastic next year of life. (For the second birthday, I’ll try to blog the party within ONE month, okay?)

2 thoughts on “First Birthday Event

  1. I absolutely LOVE all the photos in this blog. You did a fantastic job of capturing the day! Your sister is very lucky to have you.(And the video was perfect). Ario is the lucky one to have such a wonderful Auntie Livi!

    • Thanks, Mom. It was a great day. I am glad the pics turned out as well as they did, since babycakes wasn’t smiley….

Leave a Reply

