Layla, You’ve Got Me on My Knees

On Sunday, my sister and husband brought my niece over for a swim. The also brought their friend Tarah, and Tarah’s daughter, Layla.

We were hanging out and having fun, then the little girls (Arionna is 16 months and Layla is 21 months) wanted to get out and walk around. I let the parents get out and chase the kiddos, I stayed in the pool. However, I was swimming along the edges, playing peek-a-boo and entertaining the girls.

Once I hit the deep end, I was playing catch with Layla and a beach ball. Suddenly, she decided she wanted to jump off the edge into the pool for the first time in her life. We were all surprised, but none more than me, the one she jumped on. I caught her, but I was in the deep end. I couldn’t stay afloat. I ended up going under and sinking down, with my arms thrust straight upward, keeping Layla from going under. I hadn’t had a chance to take a breath and I didn’t have my arms free to help me, so I was wildly kicking with my feet,trying to force myself upward.

Somehow, I drifted over to the incline, where the pool starts to get shallower. My left foot struck out, and managed to slam into the concrete, right in the spot where I broke my foot last fall. Even underwater, tears sprang to my eyes. I gritted through the pain and used the bad foot to push off and get myself out of the water.

All three adults were watching this and laughing. None of them thought to grab the little girl from me to let me get free.

When I finally got out of the pool later, I could barely walk. I’m worried that I might have rebroken my foot–cause that’s all I need right now. I’ve been elevating and icing and I had a CMA wrap me up in an ACE bandage today. I can walk on it, but it hurts…lots.

I hope it’s not broken, but there isn’t anything that can be done. Last time, it was just the air cast–which I still have. If it gets any worse, I might, but right now, we’re seriously hoping for just a bone bruise. Are you all with me? Cross your fingers, cross your toes, but start meditating on the words “bone bruise”, with any luck our collective karma will keep me from having another six weeks in my Frankenstein boot.

At least Layla thought it was fun and is no longer afraid of jumping into the pool.

Leave a Reply

