NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo. Possibly the worst name in the world. It is an abbreviation of National Novel Writing Month.

November is that month.

I’ve seen this particular exercise the past few years, however I’ve never managed to find it in the right time. Now, however, this year, I stumbled across it just a few days ago. Realizing it was coming up fast, I dove in and signed up. That’s right, I committed to writing a 50,000 word+ novel in just 30 short days.

I don’t know if I can do it, but I sure am curious to try. I have an idea and a brief (very brief) outline of what I want to write about. Now, it is just the regular task of sitting down and committing words to paper. That works out to approximately 1,666 words a day, every day. So if I miss a day of writing, the next day I have to write 3,332 words to keep on pace.

Generally speaking, one page of text in MSWord is about 300-350 words. So, that is writing 5 pages a day. Which means, by the end of the month, I should have a 150 page novel completed, if I stay focused and on task.

Elena is undertaking this challenge as well. She and I are all about trying new things. We both expect it will be hard, but we’re excited to try and to see what we can accomplish. There’s still time to sign up, if this interests YOU.

Wish me luck. Offer me encouragement. And, if I’m feeling particularly brave, I may even post snippets of what I’m writing on here for you to read.

Welcome to November and NaNoWriMo.

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. Wow, Liv, that’s a lot of writing in a short time for a very busy woman. Maybe you can just capture passages from some really good books to save time? Like a collage, maybe? Dickens, Garlock, Evanvovich, Patchet – it could be as eclectic as you who loves and hates youtube all in the same breath. Good luck. Can’t wait til it’s published. If you need some scenes from the 60s and 70s, just let me know!

    • I love the way your mind works. I actually MIGHT need some scenes from then. I might work in a nice “good girl gone bad” scene just for you! Yeah, it’s a lot and I’m excited to try. I don’t know if I will make it. Many, many people do not, but I want to try. I like the collage idea, your list was very eclectic, I was impressed. Are you a librarian?

      And the Youtube comment made me laugh. I do have a love/hate thing going on there.

      • And talking dogs ala Garth Stein! Ooh, this could be good. Maybe we should be co-authors! Then you’d only have to write a crazy amount in a month instead of an insane amount in a month. Ha!!

      • Ha! Maybe YOU should sign up and take the challenge with me. Then we can spend December reading each other’s brilliant prose.

    • I will give her awesome hair. And maybe a hair fetish, just for kicks. We’ll see how it goes. If I get it all done by the 30th you can read the whole thing!

Leave a Reply

