Corn Maze

As Halloween is still near to us, I figure I better get this post in. I’ll tell you right now, this is going to be extremely lengthy and chock full of photos. So if you’re busy, come back later.

Sometime in October, the second weekend? maybe, my mom and I took my nephew to Severs Corn Maze in Shakopee. This was a fantastic day. First off, I’ve not done too many family fall activities in my life, so it was a new experience for a girl who loves fall and Halloween.

We drove out to Shakopee on a Saturday morning and I pulled out my phone and the GPS to get directions. Simon asked what I was doing and I explained GPS to him. He spent the entire ride to Shakopee (45 min) watching the map on the phone and noticing how much closer we were getting. It was pretty cool.

When we got inside, there was a TON of stuff to do there. For only $12 a person, it was a good deal. We started with the pillow jumps. I don’t think that is really what they were called, but they look like this:
photo

You take off your shoes, climb up top (they’re very tall) and jump like a maniac. Like a bouncy castle with no sides or top. And, the material is hard, not soft, so it requires more strength to bounce, but you go much higher. Simon mostly could stand still or sit and everyone else moving would bounce him plenty.
photo

My mom and I are the shadows, I am on the right…holding the camera.
photo

I love that photo. My mom is landing (you can tell by her hair) and her landing popped Simon up in the air.

Simon wanted to immediately go again after we got done with this, but we told him we would come back later after we saw other fun things.

Next, he wanted to go on the “giant” slide. But it was not for adults, so we told him he’d have to go alone. He did, but he was nervous.
photo

He’s almost to the top, climbing the stairs. He looked so little!
photo

He’s coming down. Clearly, the child only slide was not a huge hit, as he was the only one on it. When he got done, he told Grandma he didn’t like it at all–because he had to go alone. He had way more fun doing the giant slide at the fair, with me.

Next we just walked, figuring out where stuff was, this place is huge. There were tractors everywhere that kids could climb on for pictures. Simon loves tractors, so this was right up his alley.
photo

I love the sunshine and the corn behind him, looks like he’s really in a field, working.
photo

And this, you can see his delight.

Meanwhile, Grandma sat down…
photo

And we talked him into joining her.

Next, we decided to tackle the actual maze. It is a 5 acre field of corn, carved out into a maze. Each year, this place creates a different design for the maze, and leaves thematic clues throughout. This year, the maze was space. The aerial view looked like this:
photo

We went in with no logical plan of attack and just let the 4 year old lead us through. At every single intersection, we’d let him decide left, right, or straight. Sometimes we’d cheat and cut through the corn, just because it is fun to run through corn.

When we started walking I told him he could lead us and he said to me, “Auntie Livia, I have very good hearing.” I didn’t know what that meant, so I said okay. Then I noticed this:
photo

He told me he could hear the right way to turn! So cute.
photo
photo
photo
photo

photo

I posted the picture above for those of you who are not as familiar with fields of corn. They’re very dense. In the above photo, Simon is in the corn. If you look at the visible ear of corn, and look right below it, you will see a slight hint of navy blue. That’s his sweatshirt. When I took this, he was maybe 6 or 8 feet from me in the corn. That’s how quickly you can disappear.

When we were about 3/4 of the way through, Simon asked Grandma for her “map”. It was a paper given to us as we went in. It had a game you could play. We didn’t play it. Simon was “reading” it to figure out which way we should go. I guess his hearing went kaput.
photo

Eventually, he did lead us to the exit. And we weren’t even in there all that long. Of course, some of our “short cuts” may have helped us skip parts of the maze. It was still pretty cool.

Before we got out, I tried to hold Simon still long enough to get a group shot of us in the corn maze. I came close:
photo

Once we got done, we went to the children’s maze. It was hay bales stacked two high (so maybe waist high on me) set like a maze. For an adult, no problem, you could see the whole thing walking through. For little kids…

But the kids got in the habit of walking ON the hay bales, running the top of the maze. Simon wanted to try, so we let him have at it.
photo

Grandma helping him up.
photo

Running like a maniac. Of course, because it is a maze, there are plenty of dead ends. Most of the kids would just jump. Simon was a little hesitant. I’m talking about jumping across maybe 18 inches to 2 feet. That’s a lot for someone only 4 feet tall.

The first time I helped him jump by holding his hand. Then, the next jump I told him he could do it. He braced himself and worked up to it and…
photo

Success! He was tentative for a bit, but then I got up there and started chasing him and he was flying across those jumps like they weren’t even there.
photo

We must have played on this for an hour. He absolutely loved it. I think it might have been his favorite thing we did there.

But, there was more to see and do. We went on the pony ride next, which was one of the few things that cost money once you paid to get in. But Simon really wanted to, so Grandma paid.
photo

Think he liked it?

Then we went to shoot corn and pumpkins. Yep, you read that right. You shoot miniature pumpkins out of slingshots, trying to hit targets to win prizes. Simon and I both did it.

photo

I’m teaching him how to do it.
photo

Watching my protégé.
photo

Now, he’s watching me. Two things: 1. if you look above that shorter post in the center, you can see my pumpkin flying. 2. I think my hair looks amazing in that picture.

Then, we went to the corn cannon. You put corn in an air gun and pull the trigger to try and hit the same targets.
photo

Simon really enjoyed that more than the slingshots. I actually liked the slingshots better. More fun. Girls vs. Boys I guess.

Next up, an exotic petting zoo. When I first saw the sign, I was scoffing to my mom, “really, how exotic is it going to be?” but, I should not have doubted the fine folks at Severs.

We saw:
photo

A miniature horse
photo

Weird foreign goats
photo

This thing, whose name I cannot remember, but it was like a goat and a deer crossed, but the size of a cocker spaniel.
photo

Simon is feeding the ring-tailed lemur
photo

We saw a baboon

photo

Llama
photo

Wild deer
photo

Camels
photo

One of whom was making out with my mom

photo

Giant turtles
photo

Baby leopards
photo

A Wallaby (which is in the kangaroo family)
photo

Ostriches (Ostrich?)

And my personal favorite, because I had never seen one before in real life:
photo

Kangaroos. Which was, btw, the softest thing I’ve ever touched in my life. I was pretty amazed at the variety of  strange animals there were, many of which I had never heard of! There were even more than I picture here. It was a HUGE petting zoo.

Next, we went to watch pig races. Real pigs, racing around a track. We each picked a favorite for every round. I think we all one at least once, by my mom was the overall champion for the day.

After the pig races, which were a huge draw, there was, of course, a line at the port-o-potties. And that is when Simon suddenly had to go. We were standing in a LOOOOONG line and he said, “I can’t hold it anymore”. I said to my mom, “take him into the cornfield and let him pee.” He didn’t want to, but it was that or in his pants. She took him in a few feet and they weren’t visible and helped him go. She was holding his pants down and while he peed, he peed on a dried corn husk. Those things are hard as can be, so the pee splashed off of it and all over my mom’s hands. Yep, Simon peed on her.

Once we got those two situated, we decided to forgo the magician act and just wander a bit. We saw:
photo

More tractors
photo

A cow you could actually milk
photo

More tractors
photo

A perfect place for photographs (except for the girl in the background)
photo
photo
photo
photo

Cutouts for pictures

Then we finally stopped for food. We ate:
photo

Corn, of course. And also the best corn dog I’ve ever had. And cheese curds, but they weren’t themed.

After that, we were going to try the corn pit. This was, IMO, the weirdest thing there. It was a huge box, probably 20 feet, by 60 feet and maybe 4 feet high. The entire thing was filled with dried corn kernels. Sounds strange, right? It was, but oh, so very cool.
photo

Simon is making corn angels.
photo

We buried him alive.
photo

But Grandma saved him.
photo

I loved it. Coolest thing there, BY FAR, and that was from a day filled with cool things. It was cool to the touch, had an odd texture and was so incredibly comfortable. You could sit or lay on it and completely relax. The only thing I couldn’t do was walk on it. It was very challenging. Simon ran around like a monkey, but most adults struggled, probably due to weight and the fact that you’d sink in like quicksand.
photo

Simon was literally rolling in the corn.
photo

And convinced Grandma to, as well.
photo

We were just sitting in the corn pit, while Simon ran around like a monkey. So we took that. It is so cute, I love pictures of me with my mom.
photo

This little guy really loved this. We were in that pit for an hour. Enough time for my clothing to be filled with corn. No lie, I had to go into the corn field where no one could see me and dig corn out of my underwear after we got done!

Before leaving for the day, I helped Simon fill his pocket full of corn kernels because he wanted to take them home and show Pa. Then we hit up the pillow jump one more time, but just me and Simon, my mom opted out to take pictures.
photo
photo

(Seriously, have you ever seen so many pictures of this boy smiling?!?!)

Then, on the way out, I stole him an ear of dried corn, which was against the rules, you weren’t supposed to take corn out. Which actually made me laugh since they had acres and acres of corn!

Then, just before leaving, we stopped at the pumpkin patch for Simon and Grandma to find the perfect pumpkin. Turns out, they are both fans of the tall skinny guys. I knew my mom was, but then Simon said he likes those, too.
photo

Wandering in his search.
photo

That picture cracks me up, he is actually drinking a root beer, but it really looks like we’ve got a 4-year-old drinking a brewski in the pumpkin patch.
photo

Simon thinks he found it…
photo

Grandma does a like QC checking and then, somehow, Auntie Livi gets stuck carrying the 22 lb. pumpkin!

Overall, it was a super fun day. We were out at Sever’s for about six hours. We were all tired and dirty and chilled when we got done, but happy and content.

The minute we got in the car he said, “Auntie Livia, can I see your map again?” And he directed us home. Love that boy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

