NaNoWriMo Update

I told you I’d keep you in the loop.

Here’s what’s happening so far. In order to achieve 50,000 words, the pace is 1,667 words a day. Which means, that by the end of today (day 9) my novel should consist of 15,000 words.

At this moment, my novel consists of 6,301 words. I’m a bit off the pace. You know why? Because I suck at daily deadlines. I’m better at bursts. When the mood strikes me I can sit and write and write, but sitting down every day to write just a little? I’m not good at that. What was I thinking?

But, I haven’t written anything in a few days, so I’m due for a new burst.

I’m calling my book Something To Believe In.   What’s it about? Um, that’s a very good question. It’s just a story. No complex, involved plot.

Would you like to read the beginning?

I bet you would.

Okay. {deep breath} Here you go.

Sometimes, when you read a story, or hear a story, you are amazed at the extraordinary things that happen to people or how extraordinary people themselves can be. This story is not like that. At least, I do not think it is like that. What you think, remains to be seen.

I am an ordinary woman who has lived an ordinary life. It has been full, it has been long, and mostly, I am content. I never expected that much from life, I often felt that it was my role just to continue along, doing the everyday things. I suppose it makes sense, someone has to be ordinary or else the extraordinary people would not stand out, now would they?

Surely, though, you must be wondering why I am telling you this and why you should possibly care. As I reach the end of my life, it seems as though the story itself needs telling. Looking back on the events of my life, I can see that it was full of moments. Everyone has moments in their life, moments of truth, moments of greatness, moments of inexplicable pain and sadness. The moments are what make up the pieces of a life; they are what make the story continue. In hindsight, I am able to see that I had my share of these moments as well. It just seems to me that they were not unique or unusual as others may have been, but perhaps it is only in my view or in my reactions that they were ordinary.

Perhaps the best way to explain is this. My experiences taken individually are like a single kiss. To some, that kiss is the single most meaningful experience of their life, it can define an instant so profound, it changes the course of that person’s life. To me, it is just a kiss. Yet, stringing all of these kisses together equals a lifetime of love. That is what my story is about; a seemingly endless series of unremarkable instances that make up my life. It is the story of me, my parents and brothers, my husband and children and the people I have met along the way. It is a story of faith and the journey I have taken to bring me to this point.

There will be times during the telling that you will wonder what has brought you here. You may wonder why you are reading this story and why I am relating these inconsequential events. But have faith, my friend, the journey is the whole point and if you trust in me, all will be made clear in the end.

Well, that was quite an introduction, wasn’t it?

I suppose that now there is nothing left except to tell the story. Let us begin. 


What do you think? That is the introduction, setting up the first chapter. I welcome any and all comments, corrections, remarks, suggestions, applause that you can muster. (Oh, and, btw, that was just the first 464 words. Just a snippet of what I’ve accomplished so far.)

If you started this book, and this was the first page, would you turn to read what’s next? Want more?

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update

Leave a Reply

