My Birthday

Well, it’s almost hard to know where to begin, so many awesome things happened on my birthday. For those who are waiting breathlessly for information on the bash, that is not this post. This post deals directly with my actual birthday, March 15.

Let’s start with waking up. I set my alarm to wake me up to the note “Happy Birthday!” which is a terrific way to start the day.

Next up, my special “surprise”. I was leaving for work and I opened my garage. The first thing I saw was a balloon in the bush between my house and my neighbor’s. I wondered how Donna knew it was my birthday. Then I stepped outside.
photo

Isn’t that adorable? Balloons everywhere, and this is the close up of the front door.
photo

Who doesn’t love a present on their doorstep?

This was done by Kelly and her children. She had called me early that morning, while I was in the shower, so I assumed she’d been there to decorate. I knew right away who it was from. Later, when I talked to her, she said she had done it at 7pm the night before! I didn’t notice until the next morning.
photo

When I got to work, students were yelling “Happy Birthday” while I was still in the parking lot. I’d had a sign up all week, so it was no surprise that people knew it was my day.
photo

I was surprised to show up and the first thing I saw on my desk was this:

photo

Next to that awesome sign, is a full cake. No kidding. A whole cake! A student made it for me.

I also got this from a coworker:
photo

And this from several coworkers:
photo

Clearly, I’m a spoiled girl. The edible fruit was delicious! Everything was just ripe enough and full of flavor. The coworkers who gave it to me also sang to me in the library.

By this point, between the tiara, the sign, the balloon and the cake on my desk, I was getting wishes upon wishes. Being the anal retentive person I can be, I grabbed a post it note and started keeping track.  I know, but I was curious. Who doesn’t wonder about that stuff? No one? Really? Just me then. Fine.

But I know that by the end of the day, I was wished “Happy Birthday” by 107 different people and 25 2nd graders sang me the birthday song over the phone. That is very special.

After I had lunch, I decided to cut into that cake.

photo

Those are kit-kats lining the edge and M&Ms all over it. Inside was a two layer chocolate cake, with chocolate butter cream frosting with fudge chips between the layers. The outer frosting was chocolate cream cheese frosting. So delicious, but almost too chocolatey, even for me! (I did say almost…) I could have used a glass of milk with it, but there was none to be had. And I gave a piece to everyone who came into the library. Students now LOVE my birthday!

My cousin Sara sent me a video of her children singing “Happy Birthday” to me, she also did this last year. I wouldn’t have thought it could get much cuter than last year’s video, but I was wrong. They are so adorable and at the end they run up and kiss the camera. I’d actually post it for you, but I don’t know how Sara would feel about it, so I’ll let her decide.

At the end of my day, I went to my mom and dad’s for the rest of the celebration. I got to meet the newest baby at daycare, Hayden, who is only three months. It’s been a long time since I’ve held a baby! My grandma was there and was her usual cheerful self. Em and Chad came for dinner, with Arionna. And Elena joined us as well. It was Ario’s first time meeting Elena and she eventually warmed up to her and started calling her Leena, which was darling.

My mom made a version of chicken kiev for dinner, which was very good, but the chicken was HUGE! It was so much food. She also did a rice pilaf (sorry, mom, not my favorite–) and tasty asparagus.

She made me a birthday cake–my own special bunny cake, but, of course, the picture is on my actual camera, not my phone, so I can’t post it until tomorrow (when I upload it). The cake was delicious and perhaps the most moist cake I’ve ever had.

photo

My niece was in a bit of a mood all evening and wouldn’t take pictures, she just wanted to be held and cuddled.

This was the best picture we got together on my birthday:

photo

After dinner, she asked me to take her outside and we stood on the deck and looked at the stars. I forced her to take another picture. She just wasn’t in the mood.

I stood us under the porch light to get that, you can see she’s ready for bed…and she will not smile. However, as I carried her out to the car, I pulled her Nuk out of her mouth and said, “I love you” and she gave me a kiss and said “I love you” and then, I asked her to say the thing she’d been practicing ALL DAY and wouldn’t say to me all night and she finally said, “Happy birfday!” in her little voice and it was about the cutest thing ever.

Then, after everyone left, my parents, Lainie, and I went out to the garage to play trivia and open presents. Lane bought me a bottle of Crown, which I love. She bought me one last year as well, but that one didn’t survive the night. This one didn’t get opened, so I still have some! She also bought me new rings. I don’t have a pic of the purple one, but I happen to be wearing the blue one today, and I wore it on party night and I think everyone at the party commented on it. Want to see it? Of course you do.

(and yes, I made the face expressly for the photo, I get tired of just smiling all the time) Also, yes, it really is that big, it is not a trick or an illusion.

My mom made me a new scarf in the most gorgeous purple you’ve ever seen. Know what’s funny? I own about a dozen scarves and this is the ONLY purple one I have! Kelly’s kids got me a ceramic heart keepsake box, an awesome red pen with a pinwheel on top, which I love and is now at work with me, I’ve been using it all day. It makes me happy. What’s that? You want to SEE it? Well, of course I’ll take a picture.
photo

hee hee.
photo

They also gave me this “hat” but it didn’t fit me, it was too small, so I made Elena wear it.

Then we played trivia until 1am and I had to go home because I had to work in the morning, but not before Zack came home and entertained us with his humor and personality. I also have a birthday photo of Zack and I, but it’s on my camera. I guess I wasn’t as prepared as I thought to write this blog. Ah well, it will just be that much more enjoyable when I update it tomorrow.
photo

(Isn’t that nice? I think he and I always take nice photos together, it’s not my favorite–that was from my 31st, or maybe my 30th..I only get photos with Zack on my birthday.)

It was a wonderful birthday, and I was so happy to spend it with the people I love most in the world! Thank you all for making my birthday so special!

8 thoughts on “My Birthday

  1. That cake looks so delicious right now. I want to eat it all. In one bite. I also hate that picture you posted of Elena. She doesn’t photograph well and …. well, blech. But other than that — lovely post. Leena liked it, too.

    • It was delicious. Good cake. Not bunny cake good, but that’s to be expected.

      Of course you hate the photo. You do photograph well, you just TRY not to photograph well. And I took several. And I picked that one because of its awkwardness. That’ll teach you not to smile for me.

      I edited it today to add the promised photos.

      • And those photos are just delightful. I took that one of you and Zack I think. And I am smiling in that picture. That’s my ‘oh I hate pictures’ grin.

      • Yes, you did take the one of me and Zack. And of course you’re smiling, you love me! It’s not that grin, you’re reading it wrong. It’s the “why is Olivia making me wear this stupid hat?” grin.

    • Yay! I’ll definitely post the video, I think it is so adorable, the children should be featured. Plus, they’ll probably like seeing themselves….

      And, yeah, that’s a great picture. I like it, too.

Leave a Reply

