“Two is the beginning of the end”.

Dear Arionna,

Happy Birthday! I hope you are having a wonderful day today with your mom and dad. I think it is nice that they both take the day off to spend with you, doing something special.
photo

I keep thinking about how cool you are. You are such a fun little girl. Don’t get me wrong, you have your attitude and you can definitely be stubborn, but you are also sweet and funny and you really, really, love your Auntie Livi. Grandma reports that after I see you, you talk about me for days. And when we’re together, you always want to be hanging with me. You sit on my lap and let me hold you and we cuddle and giggle and play with my phone.
photo

You really love my phone. I bet you were excited when your mom and dad also got iPhones. Every time you see me, you want mine, to play with it. You know how to open it. And even though that’s all you really do, it makes you happy, so it makes me happy.
photo

You are also into videos. Not just music, but videos. That’s mostly grandma’s influence, but you have caught on pretty quick. Your favorite is Bruno Mars. I’m pretty sure there are few things in the world as cute as your little voice saying “I want Bruno Mars”. You also like Rascal Flatts, Barney, and Twinkle (as in “little star”). You definitely have eclectic taste for age two.
photo

One of my favorite things about you is that you like to be in the know. If someone leaves the room, you immediately ask, “where did ______ go?” Every single time. And if someone isn’t paying attention to you, you want to know what they’re doing instead. It makes us all laugh.
photo

Speaking of laughing, you’ve got a great one! Loud and joyous, it’s hard to believe sometimes that such a big laugh can come out of such a little girl. Grandma reports that you make her laugh every day, I can certainly buy it, because you make me laugh every time I see you. Of course, no one, and I mean no one, gets you laughing like Simon can, not even your daddy.
photo

And you are definitely a daddy’s girl. It’s nice to see how well you two get along. I used to say that you got your looks from your mom and your personality from your dad, but now I’m starting to change. Don’t get me wrong, you look like your mom, definitely, but the older you grow, the more of her personality I can see in you. I actually remember her at the age of two, so I would know. She was funny and sassy like you, but also very stubborn. She hasn’t given up any of those attributes, either, and I hope that will be true for you as well.
photo

Lately, for the past couple of months, your thing has been singing. It’s not that surprising, given how much you like music and videos, but oh is it cute! You can sing the alphabet, Barney’s theme song (I love you, you love me…), Twinkle, and a couple others. You’ll burst into song at a moment’s notice and it makes everyone around you smile.
photo

I hope that your year of being two is as fun and interesting as your year of being one. You’ve changed so very much, I’m excited to see who you will become next. I love watching you change and grow, because it seems like it happens so fast, but once you’re an adult it doesn’t feel like you change at all.

Did you notice the quote that started this post?

It’s part of a larger quote by J.M. Barrie, from his most famous work, Peter Pan. The quote goes like this:

“All children, except one, grow up. They soon know that they will grow up, and the way Wendy knew was this. One day when she was two years old she was playing in a garden, and she plucked another flower and ran with it to her mother. I suppose she must have looked rather delightful, for Mrs Darling put her hand to her heart and cried, ‘Oh, why can’t you remain like this for ever!’ This was all that passed between them on the subject, but henceforth Wendy knew that she must grow up. You always know after you are two. Two is the beginning of the end.”

You are growing up, Arionna, no doubt about it. Baby isn’t a word we can apply to you anymore, you are very much a big girl. I happen to think it is exciting as you get more interesting, more unique, and more…YOU as each day passes. I loved you as a baby, but I love you even more as a little girl. Happy Happy Birthday to you, Ario.

Enjoy being two!
photo

Your 1st birthday letter

Your birth announcement

Your birth letter

There are lots and lots more posts about you on my blog, but those are the annual ones I’ve done for you.

Happy Birthday my best little girl!

Love,

Auntie Livi

 

Leave a Reply

