Five Minute Party

Simon’s 5th birthday party did not last five minutes, but the whole thing was planned in five minutes. It was actually kind of impressive.

photo

Kelly and company brought an Easter themed craft…which the bday boy wouldn’t do.

photo

Victoria made a craft for Hayden, the youngest party attendee. And, at not quite four months, this was not his first birthday party. Though he was a hit, getting passed all around the party.
photo
photo

(Boy is there anything cuter than little kids holding babies?)
photo

(Maybe a grown man rocking a baby to sleep…)

Simon was so happy that his friends came to celebrate. Happy enough to let me take a picture.

photo

And that is the best picture of the three of them in existence. So darn cute.

Except that, this might be my favorite picture of the three of them.
photo

The mail came while we were hanging out and we told the three kids they could go get it. Simon knows the rules…not to go in the street. So these three RAN down the whole driveway, speedy as could be. Simon was carrying the mail and they all starting running back up the hill. But Simon kept dropping pieces of mail and having to stop, so he ended up being last.  But I like how they are staggered so you can see them all, and in motion. So cute. Plus, the scenery is nice.

Next up was the Easter Egg Hunt. I hid 40 eggs all over the yard. Each child had two special eggs that had their name on them and there was a miniature golden egg that won the finder a prize. It was interesting to see the differences in personality and age. Victoria took off like a rocket. Filled her bag and asked my mom for another one within moments. Christian found one egg and wanted to sit down and eat the candy inside.
photo

And isn’t that picture just beautiful? The light, the shadows, the expression of concentration on his face as he cracked his egg open?

photo

That’s the only one I got of Simon finding an egg. None of Victoria as I think she was done collecting by the time I started taking pictures. Simon was more methodical. I think he would have searched every square inch of land, rather than wildly running and looking for eggs. Not surprisingly, Victoria found the most, including the golden egg. I think she also made $5.32 if I remember correctly.
photo

There they are with their hauls…looking thrilled. They wanted to go see what they found, not pause for a photo.

Later, the boys were playing baseball. I told them they had to take turns hitting. Simon said, “no, I want to hit.” And before I could correct this behavior, Christian said, “I want to catch the ball!” so I guess they were made for each other. Then, Simon solidly connected. If you’ve been in my parents yard, Simon was on the far side of the driveway, aiming toward the bushes of the front yard. The ball sailed past the bushes, down the hill, and probably 30 feet into the woods. SUPER far. Christian went after it with gusto, only pausing when he hit the treeline. After I told him it was okay to go into the woods:
photo

Look how little he looks…he’s very deep in the woods.

Present time:

photo
photo
photo

photo

That’s what I got him. A giant semi-truck that hauls other trucks. Think he liked it? He was shouting, “Oh my GOODNESS! This is the best present ever!” It was so adorable.

photo

The cupcakes…all 24 of them…for four children.
photo

Me and my sleepy little buddy.
photo

Who went to Kelly with no hesitation.

After Kelly and the kids left, we recreated the egg hunt for Arionna, who missed the first time.
photo

Simon helped her find eggs and fill her bag.
photo

Think she found enough?

All in all, I think it was a highly successful party. We’re so grateful that Kelly and the kids could come on such short notice. Wouldn’t have been much of a party without them.

Happy Birthday Simon!

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Party

Leave a Reply

