We’re Not In Kansas Anymore

As you may have heard, I’ve been working a wee bit more these days. My free time is pretty precious, and this past weekend, non-existent. Needless to say, I’m tired. Very tired. Add to that, the fact that I’m trying to condition myself to accept less sleep. 8-9 hours a night is just not feasible right now, so I’m forcing myself to stay up a bit later than usual and then still get up at the same time every morning, whether I need to or not.

Super fun.

At any rate, I’m extremely tired. So much so that the biggest storm of the year came through last night – a huge, giant thunderstorm. It woke many people up, it was loud and raucous. I had every single window in my house open last night, and somehow, I never stirred. As a matter of fact, I didn’t even know that it so much as rained, much less stormed.

Then, as I was leaving for work, I opened my garage and  saw that it was wet outside. “Hmm, it must have rained” was my thought. As I was digesting that, I noticed that there was debris all over my driveway. E-V-E-R-Y-W-H-E-R-E. I actually had to go out into the drive way to pick up two pretty large tree branches so I could drive out of my garage.

Clearly, it stormed. And majorly.

As I stepped out to remove those branches, I happened to catch a glimpse of my neighbor’s yard.
photo

Majorly.

That tree was broken in the storm. A perfectly healthy, strong tree–broken. Have you ever heard a tree break? My parents live in the woods, so I’ve heard it many times, it is shockingly loud. Unless you’ve heard it, you’d never believe how much noise that makes. I’m actually standing in my garage for this photo (with the iPhone) so you get an idea of how close it is. My bedroom is over my head. How on earth could this have not woken me up? I’m flabbergasted.

Tired.

This morning, I was telling my mom about this story and she said, “Livi, that’s not good. Your whole roof could have blown off and you could have woken up in Kansas!”

How do you not love this woman? My reply was, “well, I would have woken up and said, ‘weird, how’d I get to Kansas’?” I was just that tired, I could have blown all the way to Dorothy’s house and never even stirred.

Now, that’s a deep sleep.

In case you’re curious, and because I know, this storm was so big it knocked out over 800 power outages, affecting more than 57,000 homes. My parents’ power is out; has been since about 4am and they’re saying it won’t be back on until about 1pm. Fingers crossed, because my mom is doing daycare – prairie style. The baby has to drink cold bottles, they’re eating pb&j for lunch because they can’t cook anything, and all this without her morning coffee. My mom is a hero.

The power at my casa never went out, that I know of. Naturally, it could have gone out while I was in my coma, but it was on when I got up at 7. I checked the Xcel website and there are 15 outages in my area. Pretty much every single thing around me is out…but not my house. Lucky me!

And, somehow, my roof is still attached.

4 thoughts on “We’re Not In Kansas Anymore

  1. Not to worry…we survived! And our power came back on at 10:31 am. So, all worked out ok. Arionna couldn’t figure it out though, she kept telling me to “fix it grandma, you just need new batteries” How cute is that? If only it was that easy:)

Leave a Reply

