The Universe is Listening

If you read yesterday’s post, you’d know that I’m feeling a bit lost about my job situation right now.

Usually when I write things like that, I’m not writing them to elicit sympathy, or even to share my feelings, I write for two reasons, 1) because it makes me feel better and gives me a bit of clarity to write it down and 2) to help me remember in the future.

This time, though I didn’t want sympathy, there was an edge of frustration to my post. I just feel so overwhelmed by it all, I needed it out there, I needed feedback, I needed to know someone could hear me.

The universe heard me.

As you’re probably all aware, in addition to writing, I’m an avid blog reader. I follow 70-odd blogs and they change all the time.

One that I have consistently followed is a “self-help” style blog calledMarc and Angel Hack Life. It’s common-sensical advice about life, given in list format. I love it. I don’t always agree with everything, but many of the things they say I find enlightening or truly insightful.

After I posted yesterday, I had a long talk with my mom this morning (that always helps!) and then I hopped on my reader to check the daily blogs.

I hit Marc and Angel and the post for today was called: 12 Tough Truths to Help You Grow.

Interesting.

The entire post resonated with me, but the three that stuck out were:

1.Everything is as it should be.

This is something I truly believe, even when times are dark, but it is during the dark times that it is the hardest to believe. It’s difficult to force yourself to believe that you are supposed to be living through pain or disappointment or frustration, but sometimes we have to. It’s how we appreciate the times of joy and happiness and glory.

2. Not until you are lost in this world can you begin to find your true self.

This one hit home; as though it were speaking directly to me. I feel a bit lost right now and I don’t know which way to go, which way will make me happy. That was the whole point of yesterday’s post. But that single sentence helped me gain the perspective that I am supposed to feel this way right now, because I am searching for my true self.

And, finally, this one.

12. Everything is going to be alright; maybe not today, but eventually.

These are words that I really needed to hear. I believe that things do work out. I believe that no matter how hard it gets, it will get better. (Apparently I told that to Elena a while back and she clings to those words when things are tough for her.) I believe in this, I believe that this is just a phase, a moment in time, but golly it’s nice to hear someone say it.

I don’t know what possessed Marc and Angel to write this particular post today, of all days, but I am sure glad that they did.

Their few, simple words helped me to feel better. It made me smile to think that the universe is listening and it knows what I need. Today, it gave me exactly what I needed.

There is a line from one of my favorite poems (Desiderata, Max Ehrmann) that says, “whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.”

I’ve always found comfort in that. Today, the universe tried to clear things up for me.

Thanks, universe, I truly appreciate it. I hear you.

2 thoughts on “The Universe is Listening

  1. The universe spoke to me today too and told me this:
    THE BLOGGESS IS COMING TO MINNESOTA.

    And then I thought: Olivia might like to go with you! August 10… Lemme know.

    • First….incredibly frizzy is my name these days, too!

      Second, I didn’t know you also read the Bloggess! August 10 is a Friday, and she’s appearing at 7pm. So, yes, I’d love to join you. I have a friend, Elena, who also reads her. I’ll invite her as well, if you don’t mind. (She’s the one whose birthday is today…). And we’ll go meet the bloggess and then we’ll go grab a cocktail, right?

Leave a Reply

