Lucky the Leprechaun

There are moments in life when we learn lessons, even if we don’t realize it at the time.

When I was 15, I sat behind this girl in choir. She was quiet, only talked to certain people, and never to me. I was loud and talked to anyone. But she never talked to me. She never even looked in my direction. I decided, with all the wisdom of a teenager, that she must be stuck-up, therefore, I hated her.

We had choir together. We had French together. We had English together. I saw this girl all the time. Then, one day, in our English class, we got assigned a group project. I ended up in the same group as this girl. There were four of us total. Me, her, AJ Montpetit and another girl whose name I cannot recall. We set up a time to work after school and ended up going to “her” house.

As we sat in her living room, we were discussing ideas for the project. She kept making these dry remarks. I remember wondering if she was being serious or not. If not, she was pretty funny. Finally, after one of the remarks. I laughed. I have no idea what she said, but I laughed. The other two didn’t get it, but I did and it was funny. The girl looked at me and said something else and before long, we were laughing together.

We have the same sense of humor.

It didn’t take long for me to realize that she was not at all what I had assumed. She was just quiet. Shy. Reserved. She didn’t talk to me because she doesn’t do that. But, once we started talking, we didn’t stop. We became fast friends. We became movie buddies. We used to pretend we were British and make up outlandish stories when people asked about our accents.

We went to college and stayed in touch.

We moved to different parts of the country and stayed in touch. I moved home from DC and a few weeks later, she moved to DC. Then somehow we ended up at home, both of us, at the same time. We bought homes and live about 15 minutes from each other. We’re still movie buddies.

And tv buddies.

And book buddies.

And drinking buddies.

And just plain buddies.

For 18 years she has been my friend, my best friend. We’re more honest with each other than anyone else. We talk about things with each other that no one else understands. We still think each other is so funny. She’s my very best girlfriend. She might still be awkward and shy at times. I might still judge too harshly at times. But every day, we still laugh with each other and that holds us together as it once brought us together.

When we were in high school, I used to rub her head and tell her she brought me luck. My very own lucky leprechaun. She still brings me luck to this day.

photo

Today is her birthday.

photo

Happy birthday to you, old friend. (Even though you don’t like celebrating…I do! And besides, I’m sure writing this will bring me luck!)

 

2 thoughts on “Lucky the Leprechaun

Leave a Reply

