Corn Maze 2012

If you will recall, last fall my mother and I took Simon to Sever’s Corn Maze in Shakopee. We had an absolute blast and immediately started talking about doing it again next year. We decided we wanted to bring Arionna.

I’m saying that was a mistake, right up front. She was just a hair too little for everything. I’d say 4 and up is about the perfect age for this. Mom agreed and we probably won’t even bring her next year. The year after, though, it is ON.

Beginning at the pillow jump. Simon still loved it. She was terrified. I carried her up there because she was too small to climb it. As soon as we got on it, she had a death grip on my neck. Eventually we thought if she sat down and let others bounce she might like it.

photo

That’s the happiest she looked and she’s watching Simon. Two seconds after this she said, “I’m all done”. I took her out of there.

There was a wooden train for the kids to play on this year.
photo

In the engine.
photo

Pulling the whistle.

They both liked this.

Then Arionna said she wanted to do the slide. Which is weird because she’s afraid of slides. The “kid” slide is $2 for them to do it. She wouldn’t go alone. I didn’t want to take her because that thing is for kids and it scared me. My mom said, “if you don’t think it is safe why are we letting the kids go on it?” Good question. While we were arguing about who would have to take her on the slide, unexpectedly, Grandpa stepped up.

Seriously, he’ll do anything for his grandkids. He doesn’t like slides AND he’s afraid of heights….but he did this.

photo

Simon sliding while my dad (at the top) prepares. Arionna is up there, too.

photo

Grandpa and Arionna sliding. Hard to tell which of them looks more scared.

photo

Simon at the bottom. Also, you got to love the DAD who is letting his extremely small son stand ON the slide while waiting for someone to come down. Really? That’s what you want to teach him? Aside from the fact that you are ruining everyone else’s experience?

Simon did like this slide much better this year, he was very afraid to do it alone last year. He did it, but he said he didn’t like it because he was scared. This year, he wanted to do it alone.

And in one of my favorite photos of the entire day:

photo

Yep, she looks like a girl who loves slides. And Dad just looks relieved it was over. When they walked over to us he said to me, “did it look like she had fun?” Isn’t that so sweet? Unfortunately, my answer was, “no, she looked terrified, she doesn’t like slides”. But she keeps trying them, so I guess that’s something. She’s a brave little bug.

Next we did the hay bale maze, but I was in the maze chasing Simon (read: no pictures). Again, the difference of one year. This year he was flying over those jumps, never hesitating. Even big jumps that he probably shouldn’t have done…just flew across them like it was nothing. He was also hopping up and down on the bales without any assistance at all. 4-5 is evidently a huge leap forward, at least for boys.

Then we decided to tackle the big maze. I forgot to take a picture of the aerial view, but this year it was a farm theme. There was a life size tractor shape cut into the maze. And the words “Minnesota Grown”. The letters, as it happens, were actually helpful. Even inside, they were recognizable, by the shape and it helped us figure out where we were.

Sever shots from in the maze. Someday I would like to do a photo shoot in a corn field, I think. I love how the photos look in there. Last year, too.
photo

The kids playing in the corn. (Which they were not supposed to do; news to me. We got reprimanded. I let them do it anyway. It’s hundreds of acres of corn and they are small children. What are they hurting?) Also, Simon is about five inches in front of her, facing her. It’s amazing how dense corn is. You can’t even see him in the photo.

photo

He was jumping out to scare her. I wish you could she her face as she is laughing uproariously.

photo

I told him he was in “corn jail” and couldn’t come out.

photo

Easily one of my all-time favorite photos of this lady.
photo

The kids trying to figure out the maze.

photo

Mom and Dad trying to figure out the maze. (It seemed a LOT harder this year than last year)
photo

Just a candid shot of them walking through the maze.

Unfortunately, this is about the point my mom started feeling ill. She was getting heat stroke or something. So we were trying to find the way out so we could get her some water.

While my parents got water, I stayed with the kids and asked them to pose by the giant scarecrow.

photo

Yeah, not so much. He wants down to play on the tractor and she is just fascinated by him. Won’t stop staring.

Also, see how dirty she is? She was all about running in the maze and tripping and falling and playing in the dirt. My dad kept calling her Pigpen.

photo

A close up. Look how dirty her face is! She was filthy, it was pretty cute.

photo

What I like about this photo is that while Simon is playing and I’m trying to get a picture, my dad is in the background, checking out the tractor. I guess boys never grow out of a love for tractors.
photo

There we go. A great shot of him driving the tractor.

Next we took a potty break by the giant tires that were there for the kids to climb on. My dad and I were talking and just for one second took our eyes off Simon. Suddenly I realized he was gone. I said, “Dad, where is he?” Which was a dumb question, because he was talking to ME, so how would he know?

Then I yelled, “Simon!” And I hear this little voice, floating out of the ether. “I’m in the tire!”

photo

He had decided to take a break in the shade. I went over there and said, “you scared me, I didn’t know where you were. What’s the rule, buddy?” He said, “I have to be able to see you at all times.”

That’s right.

“But Auntie Livia, I could see you the whole time.”

Drat. I hate it when they’re smarter than me. I couldn’t see him, but he could, in fact, see me the whole time.

And that face? He wouldn’t smile. Just staring at me. So I said, “fine, give me your scariest tire face” and I got that. Love it.

After the potty break (yay for Arionna, who went on a porta potty for the first time and didn’t have an accident all day!) my mom was still feeling poorly, so we found some small shade and sat for a few minutes. Eventually, the kids got antsy and noticed the cut outs. Somehow, they found them fun and let me take pictures galore, no bribing!
photo

 

photo

 
photo

 
photo

Simon took that. He borrowed the camera to “get me”.

photo

And he got Arionna in that one, too.
photo

Then he took this, through the hole of the cut out. So darned cute!

photo

I reclaimed the camera.

photo

Oh, the cuteness.

Then, they were just running and sticking their faces in and laughing at each other.

So I zoomed in.

photo

 

photo

 

photo

Hello one of my new favorite Simon photos.

We decided we needed to be heading out, so we took a quick turn through the petting zoo. One of my highlights? A water buffalo ate corn out of my hand. How many people can actually say that?

Then we were off to the corn pit. Mom and Dad sat this one out, and I took the kids.

It was Arionna’s first time. She was a little unsure. She enjoyed it, but she never strayed more than a foot from me. Of course that could have been because it was so packed in there. Last year I thought it was busy in the corn pit. This year? Easily twice as many people in there and the space is not larger. It was PACKED.

photo

Just feeling it out.
photo

I asked him if he was falling asleep. He said, “no, I’m just relaxing.”. Nice.

I also really love this photo.

photo

I was trying to get a shot of her from above. I thought I had it lined up, evidently not. But somehow, I love it like this.

photo

Her expression said she was pissed, but she’s actually just annoyed that I keep interrupting her play to take pictures.

photo

He was in heaven. He wanted to do this first, but I wouldn’t let him because it is so messy. I said this was our last stop of the day.

photo

She wanted to be buried in the corn (we had already buried Simon) but she was nervous and wouldn’t lay back. This was the best we could do.

photo

So she decided to bury herself, while sitting up.
photo

Simon came by to help.

photo

She was so intent. I’m a huge fan of play that keeps them quiet and calm. Love it.
photo

Here he’s shoveling corn between his legs and it is pelting her in the face. She is laughing hysterically. She loved this. Right until she got some in her mouth. She did not love that. And then I made them stop because there were too many people in there to be throwing corn around.

photo

She’s saying “I got it in my mouth” but her mouth is open the whole time, so it sounded more like “I ot it im my mouf”. I was cracking up. Very unsympathetic auntie.

photo

Just laying on her stomach in the corn.

After the pit, we decided to head out. Simon wanted to do the pillow jump one more time and I wouldn’t let him. Grandma was sick. He had a melt down that I had to deal with. It wasn’t fun. And I choose not to remember that as the last part of the day, so instead, I’m ending with my favorite part of the day.

For one second, when we were playing on top of the hay bale maze, I had both kids resting in one spot. I said to them, if you give me one nice photo, then for the rest of the day, I won’t make you stop and take more pictures. Just one nice one now. I still took more photos, but I didn’t force them to stop and pose after this.

This is what they gave me.
photo

If she was looking it would be perfect. But even with that, it’s still a lovely picture. Scooting next to Arionna and putting his arm around her was all Simon’s idea. I just wanted them next to each other.

Isn’t that the cutest? When I think about this day, this is what I am choosing to remember. This small moment when they showed me how much they love one another.

It was a perfect fall day, that’s for sure. We’ll try again next year.

 

2 thoughts on “Corn Maze 2012

Leave a Reply

