Spooky Songs

If you’ve known me or read my blog for any length of time, you’d know that I love playlists. LOVE them, can’t get enough. Sometimes, when I’m by myself, I’ll just create a playlist. I think of them in the shower, while listening to music. I find it challenging and fun.

I have tons of them. Currently, I have 38 of them in my iPhone. I have probably 15-20 more in my iTunes that I don’t use regularly. I’m obsessed.

Is it any wonder, then, that I have a Halloween playlist?

I do. But it is very recent. I didn’t consider, until this year, that I should HAVE a Halloween Playlist, so I made one a few days ago.

Following is the list of songs that make up my Halloween playlist. However, this is only comprised of songs I already had in my music list, I did not buy any songs, no matter how tempting, for the playlist. Also, I am not linking to anything, so if you don’t know a song and you’re curious, YouTube, baby.

Halloween Playlist:

(alphabetical order by song title – followed by artist)

Bad Company- Bad Company

Bad Moon Rising – Credence Clearwater Revival

Creep – Radiohead

Devil Town – Tony Lucca

Don’t Fear the Reaper – Blue Oyster Cult

Fire of Unknown Origin – Blue Oyster Cult

Friend of the Devil – Counting Crows

God’s Gonna Cut You Down – Johnny Cash

I Put a Spell on You – Screamin’ Jay Hawkins

I Wanna Do Bad Things With You – Jace Everett

I Will Follow You Into the Dark – Death Cab for Cutie

Into the Mystic – Van Morrison

Invisible City – The Wallflowers

Lie in Our Graves – Dave Matthews Band

Lightning Strikes – Lou Christie

Live and Let Die – Paul McCartney

Mad World – Gary Jules

Moondance – Van Morrison

Pour Some Sugar On Me – Def Leppard

Renegade – Styx

Road to Nowhere – Ozzie Osbourne

Scarecrow – Montgomery Gentry

Silent Lucidity – Queensryche

Spooky – Classics IV

Sugar Sugar – The Archies

Sympathy for the Devil – Rolling Stones

Tha Crossroads – Bone Thugs-N-Harmony

That Old Black Magic – Louis Prima

Time of the Season – The Zombies

Walking in Memphis – Marc Cohn

30 Songs, it’s pretty extensive. I love it, it’s such a great mix of music.

Here’s a list of songs I would have included if I had already owned them:

(in no particular order, just as I thought of them)

Thriller – Michael Jackson

Love Potion #9 – The Searchers

Monster Mash – Bobby “Boris” Pickett

Somebody’s Watching Me – Rockwell

Ghostbusters Theme – Ray Parker, Jr.

Zombie – Cranberries

Little Red Riding Hood – Sam the Sham and the Pharaohs

Devil Went Down to Georgia – Charlie Daniels (How do I not have this song? Oversight.)

Midnight in Montgomery – Alan Jackson

Howlin’ for You – Black Keys

Toccata and Fugue in D Minor – Johann Sebastian Bach

A note about the last song. Yes, it’s classical music, but it’s probably the most recognizable “spooky” music in the world. Honestly, I linked to a YouTube vid for that song only. Go listen to it, I dare you. I promise, you will have heard it before and you’ll go, “oh yeah, perfect Halloween song”.

There you go, my list and my suggestions of great Halloween music. In case you need some for your next Halloween party…be sure to invite me!

Happy Halloween (again).

Leave a Reply

