VOTE for the Hottest President…

Happy Election Day (US)! I hope you all went out and cast your vote, or, if you haven’t, I hope you plan to, after work. I will be voting on my way home.

I’m not political, nor do I particularly care whom you vote for. I think it is more important that you vote at all.

How do we celebrate election day here at Livlife?

By voting!

Let’s begin, shall we?

There you go, a group photo of all of our presidents. Now, for the good stuff.

Cast your votes in the comments. If you know the name, you’re welcome to use it, but for all answers give me the number on the photo, even if you use the name. (e.g. George Washington – 1, or #1)

1. Who is the hottest president (all things being relative, none of them are CK, but someone must be best looking)?

2. Best outfit?

3. Best stance (way they are standing/sitting for this photo)

4. Best hair (facial or otherwise)

5. Best hat (not all of them have or are wearing hats, but many are holding hats)

Finally, who, in your opinion, is the greatest president we’ve ever had? You don’t have to say why, but if you want to, I promise I’ll be curious.

See, isn’t this much more fun than watching campaign ads? Or scouring polls to see who is ahead?

******************************************************

Here are my picks. (Skip to the end if you’re not into spoilers).

1. Starting with my dark horse pick. #33, Harry Truman

2. This was a tough one, so many nice suits, tuxedos and the period clothing! I almost voted for #5, but in the end, my pick for best outfit was #1, George Washington (he has a CAPE!)

3. This was a no-brainer for me. #28, Woodrow Wilson. And he also looks like he’s laughing.

4. Another no-brainer. #8, Martin Van Buren. I mean, really?

5. This was tough. Some of the hats they are holding are hard to see. But, I am casting my vote with #7, Andrew Jackson. Pretty much only because Lincoln is not shown with his stovepipe hat.

And my pick for best president? I went round and round on this decision, but, in the end, I went with my first choice. I vote for #3, Thomas Jefferson.

Why? Well, it’s not entirely based on presidential stuff. But Jefferson helped found this nation. He wrote the Declaration of Independence. He founded the Library of Congress (granted, by selling them his books, but that’s just fiscally smart), he founded the University of Virginia.  He was also in the Virginia state legislature, Governor of Virginia, a member of the 1st Continental Congress, Minister to France, Secretary of State, and Vice President. He established our currency system, based on the dollar and determined that we use feet and inches in measurement. Given his predilection toward learning, education, and rational thought, I have to  believe that he ran our country based on those same principles.

During his presidency, he authorized the Louisiana Purchase and the Lewis and Clark expedition; which doubled the size of the country during his term and explored the topography and native tribes to increase trading and commerce.

Sure there are flashier presidents. Certainly Lincoln, ending slavery and the Civil War would be a strong contender, but I like Thomas Jefferson. Always have.

******************************************************

What do you think? Sound off in the comments and please take a moment to cast your votes.

It’s fun to have fun with election day.

15 thoughts on “VOTE for the Hottest President…

  1. I agree with you on 1 and 2. I worked with a guy that looked and dressed just like Woodrow Wilson. Best hair I will give you that one too, but #5 I vote for number 34.

    • You’ve got a thing for John Tyler, hmm?
      Yes, John Adams outfit is pretty amazing.
      JFK did have some amazing hair, I will grant you that.
      And I almost chose Truman’s hat, too, but I picked him for hottest so it didn’t seem fair.

      Thanks for playing!

Leave a Reply

