I Want a Cowboy

I stumbled across this today (and by stumbled, I mean I was deliberately pointed toward it by #9’s alter ego) and was just delighted. Since I’ve been a slack-blogger lately, I decided to forego the weighty blogs I have brewing and kick out some lighthearted fun.

Here then are the top 10 list of Modern Day Cowboys:

And I will tell you what. I agree with numbers 10, 9, 7, 5, 3, and 1, no problem. However, I think #4 is ridiculous as is #2. I have no problem with 2 being on the list, just not at #2. And #4? I watched that show, faithfully and religiously, for five years. I barely remember that character. For a show set in Texas and filled with modern day cowboys (Tim Riggins anyone? How about Coach Taylor?) that is a foolish pick. Numbers 6 and 8 are fine, I just wouldn’t have put them above certain others. Also, given my druthers, I would totally add Steve McGarrett as a modern day cowboy. If Seeley Booth can make the list, so can McGarrett.

And, while #3 may be on my favorite show and #9 may be my favorite everything, I actually agreed with the number 1 pick, it’s hard not to.

Heck, all this numbering is making me crazy. Without further ado, here is MY list.

10. Eric Taylor, Friday Night Lights

9. Jim Longworth, The Glades

8. Deacon Clayborne, Nashville

7. Harvey Specter, Suits

6. Aaron Hotchner, Criminal Minds

5. Steve McGarrett, Hawaii Five-0

4. Seeley Booth, Bones

3. Dean Winchester, Supernatural

2. Eliot Spencer, Leverage

1. Raylan Givens, Justified

And, yeah, I know that several people on my list are not actually cowboys in any fashion, but they make the list for being “modern” cowboys. Men with a cowboy attitude. Men who can kick ass and cry in the same scene. Men who thrillingly terrify when they face down a bad guy. Good with a gun (or a fist or his brain or all three) and fiercely protective of the ones they love. The man who can be counted on to do the right thing even in the worst circumstances. These are modern cowboys. It’s my definition, sure, but it’s my list, too.

So tell me, do you agree? Who would you add or subtract? And who would you move up or down?

4 thoughts on “I Want a Cowboy

    • Eliot is #1 in my heart. And since Raylan is an ACTUAL cowboy, I gave him an edge. If we’re doing how HOT these cowboys are, it would be a very different order!

  1. I don’t know the rest, but you know how I feel about Raylan Givens. Do you think they have FX at Children’s? I’ll let you know about 9pm tonight;-)

    • If they don’t, wait until 10 and go to iTunes on your phone and pay 2.99 and download it and you can watch it. How’s that for awesome tech?

Leave a Reply

