Lent Letter #4

Dear Clayton,

Hi my friend. I love the fact that you are old enough to read this yourself. I know you will, too. I wanted to talk to you today about our friendship. You and I have talked about our friendship before. You know that I love you and that you are one of my favorite friends and that you and I have been friends since the minute we set eyes on each other.

photo

Right there. That was the minute we met, the minute we became friends. You have no idea how special you are to me. You are the first. The very first kid in my life. When you were born, I didn’t have nieces or nephews and my friends and I did not have children. You changed everything. You made me into the auntie that I am. I know that I am not actually your auntie, and that’s okay. You and I have something better. We have friendship. We choose to be a part of each other’s lives, it’s not an accident of family.

Did you know that you smiled your first ever smile, for me? Part of me feels bad about that, because you should have shared it with your mom or your dad or both, but you didn’t. You gave it to me and it is a gift I’ve always treasured. Even then I knew that you understood that we are a special kind of friends.

We have always been able to talk about anything. You’ve asked me more questions than anyone I know and some are so thoughtful that we’ve had to work together to find an answer. You tell me things that sometimes you don’t even tell your mom and dad. I love the way your mind works, how you process information. In many ways, the way you think deeply and thoughtfully and tend to over analyze things, we are very similar. That is how I think and how I process, which could be why we have always communicated so well. We think alike. In other ways, your love of science and technology and nature, we are very different, but that helps us learn together. I’ve learned so much from you and I hope that you have from me, too.

I know, as days pass and we’re both busy it gets harder and harder and harder to spend time together and to be friends, but it’s okay. Because what we have isn’t because of the cumulative (look it up) time we’ve spent, it’s because we love each other and understand each other. That doesn’t change over time. So, even if you become a sullen teenager and don’t want to spend time with me and get embarrassed by your “parents’ friend” I’m gonna still be your friend. I will just wait you out and then, one day, you’ll remember our bond and that after your mom and your dad, I loved you first. And I will love you always. You changed my whole life just by being born, I can’t wait to see how you use your special life to change the rest of the world, too. I’m really looking forward to that.

And I am always here for you, if you need to talk.

Thank you for being part of my life,

Olivia

(to see why I am doing this, read here)

Leave a Reply

