Archer City

It’s a little town in big ‘ole Texas. It stands at less than 2,000 people. One of those people is Western author, writer of Lonesome Dove and Terms of Endearment, Larry McMurtry.  I’ve never read anything by Larry McMurtry. However, someday, I will travel to his hometown just to visit his bookstore.

When I was a little girl, I used to believe that Heaven was just beyond the clouds and the streets were paved with gold and angels were everywhere, wearing white robes, with big, fluffy, white wings. As I’ve grown, my belief in Heaven itself hasn’t changed, but my ideas of it have. Now, I believe Heaven is your true happiness. Each person gets their own perfect Heaven. And mine?

Mine looks like the inside of Larry McMurtry’s bookstore in north Texas.

photo

Yes, that is it exactly. My Heaven. Books, as far as the eye can see. So many that they overflow off the shelves and tables, onto the floor. Stacks of books in a never ending supply. Beautiful, organized, chaos. The only thing missing is the easy chair in the corner.

I just stumbled across this while reading online. It’s somewhat miraculous to find a photo of your Heaven displayed for all the world to see. I never even knew this existed before today, but now, now that I know? I must go there. When I finally take that cross-country road trip, this will definitely be one of the stops.

Even I didn’t know that I’ve always wanted to visit Archer City, TX. The things you can learn without even trying…

Leave a Reply

