Lent Letter #11

Dear Victoria and Christian and Baby,

I know that you all know that your mom and I have been friends for a very long time. A VERY long time. I first met her when she was 10 years old. That is barely older than Victoria is now. Sometimes it is hard for me to believe that she has three children because I still remember her as the young and carefree friend of my childhood.

But she is very different now and that is because of the three of you. You are amazing children, beautiful and happy and funny and friendly and kind. I love how excited you get to see me when I visit. I love how you (well the older two) tell me stories and remind me so much of your mom that sometimes it brings tears to my eyes.

Victoria, I love how much you love to read. It makes my librarian heart so happy to see you love reading. It makes me remember when I was a little girl, like you, I’d sneak extra reading time in after I was supposed to go to bed. Something about an exciting story just makes sleep less important. I get that. I’m still like that to this day. I suspect you might be as well. The other day, I visited your mom at school and I stopped to see you. When you saw me standing there your whole face lit up and you raced across the hall to throw yourself at me and give me a hug. It made my whole day. As much fun as I had with your mom, that was my favorite part of the day. I hope you always love that generously.

Christian, I love how you see the world. You tell me stories of the people and the places and the things. The details are less important to you, what you see is how and why something happened. The night I came to visit your mom and you had just gotten Goldie #1 that day, I could have listened to you talk about that fish all night long. You have a natural curiosity about why things happen that will help you learn more about the world than you could ever learn in books or in school. Not that those things aren’t important but caring why things happen is the most important trait you can have in this world. I hope that you are always interested in the world around you.

Baby, it’s harder to know you because you’re not here yet. I’m pretty excited to meet you though. I’m thrilled beyond words that I will be part of your life from your very first day onward. There will never be a day in your life when you won’t know me as your friend. You’re pretty lucky though to be coming into the world as part of this family. You have two wonderful parents, a big brother who will teach you how things really work and a big, big sister who will teach you everything else. You’re basically set for life.

I’m so lucky to have friends like you. I hope you feel equally lucky to have a friend like me.

Thank you for being part of my life,

Olivia

(to see why I am doing this, read here)

2 thoughts on “Lent Letter #11

  1. Those were some very kind words. Mostly I’m too busy to wonder if it’s odd to you suddenly I’m married with a quarter dozen children, but this really got me thinking. It must be very strange sometimes. I’m curious, what do they say that reminds you of me? It was a beautiful post. As I told you earlier, I gasped when I started reading it. I loved it:-)

    • Yes, it is odd sometimes. But, it’s more odd that you’re married than that you have kids. It’s the most odd that you said “quarter dozen” to describe three kids. It can be strange but it is wonderful, too. What do they say? It’s not WHAT they say, it’s how they say it. How they trip over words in their excitement to tell a story. How Victoria will backtrack to make sure I got every last detail, even if it isn’t pertinent to the overall story. How they talk over one another in their fight to be heard and to be the first one to share the exciting news. It’s all you, baby. All you.

Leave a Reply

