Lent Letter #12

Dear J3,

My friend. Truth be told, I would never have pegged us for friends. We really could not be more different. And yet, we just work. I feel comfortable with you and have from the beginning. It’s not just that you’re kind and welcoming, it’s that secret crazy you hide from most people. I think I felt it right away.

I have it, too, you know. Most of the time I’m absolutely bonkers, and I’ve learned to be very proud of that. I love that you’ve lived such a full and juicy life. Yes, I used juicy, but that’s mostly because of the story. You make me laugh like no other, especially when we’re at work. I still don’t know, to this day, why Kelli let us get away with that, but maybe she thought that the library was enhanced by joy and laughter. I know I do.

You’re an excellent librarian and I have learned a great deal working with you. As a matter of fact, I’d protest that I never got to work with you often enough. There is more to learn, more we can learn together, and I just know you’ve got more stories to share. One of the things I like best about you is how intently you listen. You can name most all of my friends. You know my family, you can repeat my stories. You invested yourself in me; in this surprising and wonderful friendship we share. I don’t know for what purpose we are meant to be friends, maybe I won’t ever know. But I do know, for certain, that having you for a friend makes me a better friend. It makes me dream bigger. It makes me laugh harder. It makes me listen well. It makes me want to be the kind of friend you are to me.

Also, I like that you call me Liv (and kiddo). That’s pretty apropos of nothing, but I just wanted you to know.

Thank you for being part of my life,

(to see why I am doing this, read here)

3 thoughts on “Lent Letter #12

  1. Hey Kiddo – I finally found this. Wow, I’m honored and touched. My secret crazy! Some of my friends refer to that part of me as the IMP. All fitting. Thanks for the love. Love you too. J3 btw – giving up peanuts for Lent would have been a lot easier!

    • I hate peanuts, so I think that is cheating. However, I’ve long since concluded that this is WAY more difficult than giving up anything. Next year, I’ll probably just give something up again.

Leave a Reply

