Books, Books, Books – February Edition

Well, it is a month later, and I am happy to report that I am still doggedly recording every book I read. This month, I found an interesting side effect of this project. I came across two books on my list that I started and didn’t care for. Normally, I would just stop reading them. However, in this case, I didn’t want the hours I spent reading the first half to be wasted time. I wouldn’t have counted them unless I finished them, so I had to finish them so I could count them. Weird, right?

I know, but I did finish them. One, I’m glad I finished. The other, I-well, let’s just say it was a disappointment. Here’s the list.

February (13 books)

1. Witch & Wizard – James Patterson

2. Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight – Jennifer E. Smith

3. The Real Real – Emma McLaughlin & Nicola Kraus

4. Legend – Marie Lu

5. Someone to Watch Over Me – Judith McNaught* (denotes a previously read title)

6. Whitney, My Love – Judith McNaught*

7. Goddess Interrupted – Aimee Carter

8. Awaken – Katie Kacvinsky

9. Middle Ground – Katie Kacvinsky

10. Crossed – Ally Condie

11. Warm Bodies – Isaac Marion

12. Perfect Scoundrels – Ally Carter

13. Reached – Ally Condie

Best book I read in February was #8(Awaken – Kacvinsky) followed closely by #9 (Middle Ground – Kacvinsky) which are part of a series. Amazing dystopian fiction, but the closest thing I’ve seen to where our society might actually be headed. It was eye-opening and chilling and very compelling all at once. I devoured those books. Both done in two days, back to back. Thank goodness it was a weekend.

Worst thing I read in February was #11 (Warm Bodies – Marion). This is actually a movie right now and was a recommendation from my friend Lisa, who has never steered me wrong, until this time. This book was terrible. That’s it. Just terrible.

The other book I struggled with was #10 (Crossed – Condie) This was the second in the Matched trilogy. I really enjoyed Matched, I thought it was well written and the story was gripping. The second, Crossed, was such an utter disappointment. It took such a strange turn from the first book that you wouldn’t have guessed they were in the same series. My biggest complaint is that the entire second book felt like a setup for the third book. Like this whole story could have been a duo. The third was ok, better than the second, but still not great. It was also about 150 pages too long. Way too much medical jargon and focus on the illness. Get to the people. the point of the story. Then, the whole thing wraps up in about 10 pages, of a 520 page book. It was a let down to be sure. However, regardless, I would still recommend that you read the first. Even the third if you want to know how it ends. Skip the second, I can’t think of one reason you’d need to read that book.

Okay, so I’m up to 23 total books on the year, with 10 months to go. I’ll be back at the end of March, which is my birthday month and I would assume I read less during this month because I’m busy. We shall see…

6 thoughts on “Books, Books, Books – February Edition

  1. You read 23 books in two months. Holy shit balls. It’s no wonder you only call me when you’re working. Jesus, that’s a lot of reading. I’m in the middle of six with not a one finished in those two months. I did finish about a dozen magazines though. Does that count for anything? 😉

    • I can’t believe you find that so surprising. I said I’d probably read 100 books or more this year. Yes, I read a lot. That’s what I do in the evenings, you are correct. And I call you when I have something to tell you.

  2. I can’t believe you didn’t like Warm Bodies! You must have no sense of humor… To be honest, I saw the movie first and really liked that, so maybe that’s why I liked the book? Who knows. Everybody strikes out sometime.

    • No sense of humor? No, I’m just not a zombie fan. And that book was not funny. It was strange and jumped around too much and the writing was hard to follow. Just not for me. But I tried it. And you still have a high score with me in the rec department…

      • Of course I’m kidding about the sense of humor! Sheesh! But I just finished “The Rook” by O’Malley and it’s really, really good and pretty facsinating. No zombies, I promise.

      • I knew you were kidding. Because I have a good sense of humor. I’ll check out “The Rook”, I’m always looking for good new stories.

Leave a Reply

