Lent Letter #13

Dear Simon,

Hey buddy. It’s hard to believe that you’re almost six years old. You are the first born of my nieces and nephews. That makes you very special. You and I, we get along great, but we have our challenges. We’re both pretty strong willed, and a little stubborn. I think we get that from Pa.

I wanted to tell you that when you come visit us and I get to spend time with you, it is always so special. Even if we do nothing but sit at Gram’s house and watch movies, we have a good time. Because you are such a fun little boy. And, let’s face it, I’m pretty fun, too. One of my favorite things to do in the whole world is make you laugh. You’re pretty happy, but you don’t let loose your laughter very often. When I can ring an honest-to-goodness belly laugh out of you, it feels like a victory. Like I’ve won a special prize.

Also, I appreciate that you are pretty good natured about me always taking so many pictures. I know you don’t like it, but someday, I really hope that you will. So much of childhood is forgotten amid the excitement of growing older; my hope is to capture as much as I can for you so that you’ll always remember that we love you like crazy, you were wacky and silly and fun, you make crazy faces, and we truly did have some great times.

I’ll tell you the stories, someday, I plan on being one of those “I remember when…” kind of people, but I’ll have the photographic proof to back me up.

I’m so very glad that you’re my nephew. I love your big heart and your fierce belief in what you know. I love that you challenge me and don’t settle for what’s easy. These are the things that make you special to the world. But to me, you’re special just because you’re you. I love you, dude.

Thank you for being part of my life,

Auntie Livia

(to see why I am doing this, read here)

One thought on “Lent Letter #13

Leave a Reply

