Lent Letter #14

Dear Camden,

For the sake of symmetry, I decided to do my only two nephews back to back. I know that you’re not even three weeks old, so the idea of symmetry is a bit lost on you, but don’t worry, you’ll have plenty of chances to learn. Simon and your sister will tell you that Auntie Livi is good at explaining things.

You, my sweet boy, are so special to me. Not only are you my beautiful nephew, you are the only baby in the world I’ve ever witnessed being born. I was there, in the room, watching as you came into the world. That’s a pretty strong bond we share and I will always be grateful to your mom and dad for allowing me that chance. Mostly, I’m grateful that after your mom and dad, I was the third person in the world to get to hold you. That’s a lot of extra time that I’ve gotten to love you.

There will be so much more between us as you get older. I’ll be the crazy lady always taking pictures, but I’ll also be one of your favorite people in the world. Just ask your sister and your cousin. I’m fun. I will make you laugh. I’ll let you sleep over at my house. I’ll make you popcorn and we’ll watch movies. We’re going to have a grand old time together. I can’t wait. But for now, your job is pretty simple. Rest and grow and keep on letting me love you like I do.

Thank you for being part of my life,

Auntie Livi

(to see why I am doing this, read here)

Leave a Reply

