Lent Letter #15

Dear Books,

Yes, books. I’m writing you a letter. I was thinking about this project the other day and it suddenly occurred to me that I don’t have to only include people. I can include important parts of my life. One of the most important parts of my life is you, my friends, my books.

Since I was too small to even remember you’ve been some of my best friends. I remember when I was in the 5th grade, we were assigned read the first chapter of a book, Tuck Everlasting, by Natalie Babbitt. I loved that book so much I went home and read the whole thing that night. The next day Mrs. Krupich told us to take out our books for silent reading time and I had to go to her desk and tell her I finished the book. “I just assigned it yesterday!” she said. I am not entirely sure she beleived me. She made me tell her what happened. Then she let me go to the library to pick out a different book to read. I don’t even remember what I picked, but that story sticks out because that is still one of my favorite books. And also because that was the first time I can remember someone pointing out that reading a whole book in a night is unusual.

I still do that. Well, you guys know that. This year I am keeping track of how many books I read, the first time in my life I’m doing that. The fact is, reading is my favorite thing to do. I love reading, getting involved in a story, learning characters, making friends, following their journey. I weep with them at the sadness, I laugh at the banality of life, I soar to those dizzying heights, I plummet to those awful lows. I fully invest myself in what I read. I remember the stories, the characters, the moments-for years to follow.

There have been few influences in my life greater than my love of books and reading. Surely there can be no greater non-human influence. I credit my intelligence, my vocabulary, my sensitivity, my creativity and my patience, among other things to what I’ve learned from books.

You are forever friends, confidants, companions, my comfort and my joy. I can’t imagine a life lived without books (to paraphrase Thomas Jefferson) and I’m so grateful for whatever fortune smiled down upon me and made me a true bibliophile.

Thank you for being part of my life,

(to see why I am doing this, read here)

Leave a Reply

