Lent Letter #21

Dear Emmy,

My baby sister. You and I have an interesting relationship, right? You are, in many ways, my closest friend. And yet, we couldn’t possibly be more different. We are four years apart in age and I used to think that was so much. Too much. We didn’t have anything in common growing up. It took me a long time to realize that it wasn’t the years that kept us separate. It was us. We’re just very different people. We have always and still have very different ideas and interests.

And yet, we are close. I can call you anytime, just to talk. You can do the same to me. We can bitch to each other about our brothers (and there is no one else in the world who understands it like we do, not even mom). More than anyone else, you continually surprise me. It’s like I know you best and somehow am still learning you, all at once. I think I know exactly what to expect from you and then you don’t react like I assumed you would. It’s disconcerting sometimes, that shifting landscape, and yet, I love it. I know you feel the same about me.

We are complex and so is our relationship. But I think too often we get bogged down in what we should be or what we should think that we don’t take the time to really know each other. We’re learning though.

One of my favorite things about you is your loyalty. You are always on my side. I never doubt that. Even when we’re fighting, if someone else was causing me trouble or pain, you’d jump in without hesitation and stand up for me. Because you are always on my side.

As I am on yours. I don’t always agree with your choices, but it doesn’t matter. You’re my baby sister and I’m on your side. Privately, I’ll tell you what I think (sometimes, other times it’s pretty clear you don’t want to hear it, you just want me to agree….so I do that), but to the world, I’m on your team.

That’s the very best thing about having a sister. I can count on you like I can’t count on anyone else in the world.

Thank you for being part of my life,

Liv

 

(to see why I am doing this, read here)

Leave a Reply

