Lent Letter #24

Dear Sara,

Hey cuz! I had intended to write this for you the day after my birthday, because I’d been thinking about you a lot. I have been anticipating my birthday video. It’s my very favorite thing to receive each year. I love that you do it. I hope that someday, when I’m an old lady you’ll still make Hunter and Hadley (well into their 40s) send me a birthday video. That would be awesome.

But, onto you. Sometimes, when I write about my friends on here, I refer to them as “my oldest friend” or the “friend who’s known me longest” or variations. In actuality, that’s not true. That position has long been filled by you. Our whole lives (well, I guess I was 4 months old when we met) we’ve been friends. Yes, we’re also cousins, but that sure doesn’t mean we aren’t also friends. It’s kind of amazing when you consider we’ve never actually lived in the same state, how close we actually are.

With time and distance, relationships with a cousin are supposed to fall apart. I mean, when was the last time you talked to Beth or Justin or Ted? But you and I talk all the time. Sometimes just an email, sometimes just a text message, but we talk. We keep in touch. We visit (yeah, technically YOU visit – I’ll come down soon, I promise). That’s how I know we’re more than just cousins. We are friends.

There are so many ways you’ve influenced my life, most of which I’ve written about on this blog. Probably the best way is by being such a huge part of my life. My childhood friend, my cousin, so close that we’re practically sisters. You hold a special place by being both my family and my friend. I’m extraordinarily lucky to have you. I know not everyone has a cousin that they are so close to, a cousin that they even care to be so close to. But I’ve got you. And, you know this, but you’ve got me, too.

Thank you for being part of my life,

Olivia

(to see why I am doing this, read here)

2 thoughts on “Lent Letter #24

  1. Thank you so much for including me in your letters!! I love reading all of them!! I just wish I had your ability to express feelings!! I have learned over the years that there are only a handful of lifetime “friends.” Most friends from childhood turn into acquaintances after so long, even if you don’t want it that way. For instance, at my 10 yr reunion I was so excited to see my friends and then when got there and hugged, it was, well, awkward. But there are those select few that you are able to just pick right where you left off and you are one of those!! I used to think that it was because we are cousins but your right, I don’t talk with any other cousins unless we are at a family function….we are friends!! Thank you again for all the kind words!!

    • You’re welcome. I’m glad you feel the same way. I agree that over the years friends tend to fade away, and it’s okay, I think it is supposed to happen. Can you imagine how many friends we’d all have if we never stopped being friends with anyone?

Leave a Reply

