Lent Letter #25

Dear Lane,

You get to be the day before my birthday. Why? Because. That’s why. Arbitrary (that’s my new thigh tattoo!).

I know you’ve laughed already while reading this. One of my favorite things about you, aside from how much you make me laugh, is how funny you find me. Then, it hit me. That’s our language. Laughter is our language.

Since we first became friends, we crack each other up like no one else. We laugh and laugh and laugh. Then, in a blink, we turn serious and talk. I don’t talk to anyone the way I talk to you. Because you get it. You understand. You are usually experiencing the same thing or have experienced it or are about to experience it.

You get it. You get me.

Then we laugh some more.

I was going to write this whole long thing, a sappy tribute, but I’ve done that before. And then it occurred to me. With us, it’s three simple things.

Understanding

Acceptance

Laughter

That’s all we need to get by. (Well, and Dean. And Christian. And AOL. And Deacon. And others yet to be discovered).

Thanks for being part of my life,

Liv

 

(to see why I am doing this, read here)

Leave a Reply

