Lent Letter #27

Dear Mindy,

I’ve told this story about a thousand times, I think. When you and I met, we both thought we had met before. We had not. I truly believe that we recognized each other because we were meant to be friends. We could have been friends in a past life and our souls recognized that friendship. Regardless, there is no doubt that we were supposed to be friends.

Sometimes when I think about it, it doesn’t seem that long that we’ve known each other. 13 years. It’s not that crazy. Especially when you think that I’ve known Elena for 19 years and Kelly for 24. But when you think about what time period that encompassed, we’ve known each other a lifetime.

We were young and single and crazy and drank every single day when we met. Now, your baby is about to be NINE years old. (I don’t know why I am struggling with that so much, but this year has hit me hard).

Still, through all the changes, we’re closer than ever before.

You are, without question, the most insightful person I know. When I struggle with a problem, it’s you I turn to for advice. You have this knack for looking at a situation from a perspective that no one else shares. My dad gives me practical advice. My mom gives me emotional advice. You, somehow, give me a different view. You change the way I look at the problem until it is easier for me to figure out.

I don’t know if you know that, or if you know how much I value that. You should. It’s an amazing gift. I am not sure it works as well on your own problems as it does on mine, but I hope so. Every time we talk something through, I feel better, stronger, more confident. I’m able to make better decisions because you’ve helped me understand the true problem. That’s your gift to the world. I am so lucky that I get to be one of the people you share it with.

Two people could not really be more different than you and me. It’s never mattered, though, not to our friendship. I think the fact that we are so different is what bonds us together. We share bits from our lives and are both better for it. We are stronger people because we are friends. We are better friends because we are friends. I don’t know who decides these things. Maybe fate? Whomever aligns souls for friendship, well, I don’t think they’ve ever done a better job than you and me.

Thank you for being part of my life,

Livi

 

(to see why I am doing this, read here)

Leave a Reply

