Lent Letter #39

Dear Dad,

As with Mom, you’re obviously one of the biggest influences on my life. I like to pretend that I’m exactly like Mom, but I think we all know the truth. I’ve got so much of you in me. From you I get my pragmatism, my sense of humor, my affinity for math and numbers and music, my stubbornness, and my work ethic, just to name a few.

You’ve been this quiet, steady, presence in my life. You’re not one to insist or jump in with input or advice, you just quietly live your life and offer me a sterling example. So many things I’ve learned, just by seeing how it is that you live your life. This is a powerful example that too many overlook. Aside from that, you are my guide to practicality. When something needs to be decided, when it is something big, I always go to Mom first. But mom responds emotionally to things; while that can be useful at times, it doesn’t always help me decide. After I think about what she says, I ask you. Your advice is tempered, measured, considered, thoughtful. It is to the point and straightforward.

Does that mean I always take your advice?

I think we both know better.

But what it does mean is that I walk through this world with a smart, strong, and savvy mixture of emotion and knowledge, courtesy of my parents. I’m an equal blend of you both. That is something I’m very proud of. I guess you could say that the best thing you ever gave me was you for a father and the fact that you chose Mom to be my mother. I’m grateful. I’m proud.

I love you and I’m glad that you’re my Dad.

Thank you for being part of my life,

Livi

(to see why I am doing this, read here)

Leave a Reply

