Books Books Books – April Edition

April was a pretty good rebound after my slower March. I really only had one epic fail. I started a book, another Lisa recommendation (that’s two fails L!), The Rook, by Daniel O’Malley. I wanted to like this one so much, but the writing was clunky and the story was so convoluted and confusing I just couldn’t do it. I read about 40% of it and had to quit. I hate doing that, because I spend time reading, time that I could have been reading something else. However, I suppose that’s part of life. Or at least reading.

However, in spite of wasting 3 days plugging through that, I still managed 11 books.

April (11 books)

1. The Evolution of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin

2. I’ve Got Your Number – Sophie Kinsella

3. Skin Deep (I-Team) – Pamela Clare

4. Hard Evidence (I-Team) – Pamela Clare*

5. Breaking Point (I-Team) – Pamela Clare*

6. Teen Idol – Meg Cabot

7. Abandon – Meg Cabot

8. Beautiful Creatures – Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

9. Unlawful Contact (I-Team) – Pamela Clare*

10. Delirium – Lauren Oliver

11. Underworld – Meg Cabot

As you can see, I was stuck on a couple authors this month. Four books by Pamela Clare, three of which were re-reads. She released a new one in the series and it’s been a couple years since the last. It prompted me to re-read the back catalog. Almost. I have two left to catch up on; they are on my May list.

Meg Cabot is an author I never really read. She writes a TON of stuff, but, I’ve never really been into her. Now I realize why, turns out she’s not really a very good writer. Good story teller, sure, but not that good of a writer. I did, however really enjoy Teen Idol. It was pretty much like every fantasy I ever had in junior high and high school. The other two are a series, a re-imagining of the Persephone myth. I recently read the Goddess series by Aimee Carter, which was better, but this one was pretty good. Turns out there is a third coming.

Delirium was a book I wanted to read for a long time, I’ve heard how good it is. And it sounded good. But, well, it was kind of boring. It did pick up the pace a LOT toward the end, but only the last 10%, which was almost too late. I finished it and I’m thinking about trying the next. If it starts off at the same pace as it ended, I could do it, but I’m afraid she might just be a boring writer.

The best thing I read this month was probably I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella. It was campy and British and fun and I laughed out loud several times while reading it. It was predictable and kind of crazy at the end, but I so thoroughly enjoyed the story it didn’t really matter.

The worst thing I read (aside from the one I couldn’t finish) was Beautiful Creatures. I wanted to like this. Elena recommended it, and the movie looked good, but the book was just…not. The story was interesting enough but it was so involved and over dramatic while….nothing happened. A 500+page book and there were maybe 3 chapters where something actually happened. Meh. I might still see the movie though, it could actually be better than the book.

And there you go, my April list. I’m pretty excited for May. I have several books I’m excited about in the queue. I am, however, busier than average in May, so I might not get through as many. But I’m starting with the sequel to one of my favorite books from 2012. That was Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins. The sequel, which was published yesterday, and I bought on my way home from work, is Sweet Peril. Pretty psyched about that.

The grand total for the year, to date, is 39 books, which puts me on a pace for 117 for the year. I’ll keep plugging away.

7 thoughts on “Books Books Books – April Edition

  1. It’s ok that I fail now and then (sob, sob). I’ll try to come up with a better title for you, promise. I hear Wool is supposed to be good, but haven’t gotten there yet.

    • I mostly heckle, you win WAY more than you fail. And you recommend stuff in the genre I like, so you’re one of my favorite recommenders. And I didn’t hate this book, just could.not get into it. Wool, hmm? I’ll give it a shot.

      • Well, I guess that’s ok then. I am just finishing Every Day by Levithan and really enjoyed Code name Verity. Pretty awesome. But now I’m getting ready for book clubs & am reading older stuff. Okay for now (freaking AWESOME) by Schmidt and Grave Mercy by LaFevers. Try ’em!

      • And now you AND J3 recommended Every Day, so I will have to try that. I will try Code Name Verity as well. I will check out both of your “older” requests. You’re the best! Have you ever read anything off my lists? Just curious….

      • I haven’t yet, but only because my list keeps growing with book clubs coming and that panel in November. But there are some that we have overlapped, for sure!

  2. I couldn’t finish Rook either. I think the writer was in a manic phase while writing it. I just couldn’t keep up, nor did I want to. Actually, I barely started Rook. I think I gave up after about 40 pages. A few good ones I’ve read lately: Every Day by David Levithan; Love Water Memory by Jennie Shortridge; and The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder. Oh, and Ruby Red and Sapphire Blue by Kiersten Gier. (Emerald Green comes out in the fall) And I totally agree with you about Meg Cabot – like the stories, the writing can be maddening. I did really like her Twilight series – long before the other Twilight series. OK, that’s enough for now. Ciao.

    • Well that’s a relief, it’s not just me. Rook was just too…manic was a great choice.

      I have a list now of J3 recs. And, same day I read this, a friend of mine, Elena, recommended the Ruby Red etc. Weird? Perhaps. Kismet…for sure. And for the record, it’s never enough when it comes to book recs….

Leave a Reply

