Super Dad

I need to cook several recipes that call for cooked chicken. I bought the chicken at the grocery (on sale!) and now I just need to cook it. But, really, who has that kind of time? Ok, well, I do, but I prefer to spend what little free time I have doing fun things, like laundry and dishes, rather than cooking chicken. This morning, I was thinking, hmm, bet I can just cook it in the crock pot…

I googled it and, yes, you can cook chicken breasts in the crock pot, but they do dry out, so you can’t over cook them. 6-7 hours on low, and that is it. Fine. I’m going to be at work for 7 hours today, so if it is the very last thing I do before leaving the house, it should be fine. I prepare it, seasoning and a little chicken broth to keep it as moist as possible, and all that chicken in the crock pot. Then I reminded myself to turn it on as I was walking out the door.

The job I have today is a job that I was specially trained for, but this is the first time I had done it. As I was leaving I was doing my mental checklist of things I needed to bring, most importantly, my manual, explaining what I need to do. Lo and behold, really not a surprise, I forgot to turn on the crock pot.

30 minutes later, I remember. Of course, I am well into Anoka County by this point. Damn. What can I do? I can’t just leave it sit out all day in the crock pot, I’ll have to throw away three pounds of chicken. Yeah, it was on sale, but is wasn’t FREE. I mentally debated calling my neighbor, but she’s not even usually home during the day. Suddenly I notice the clock. 10:51 am. My dad leaves work at 10, so he is probably home by now, but maybe, just maybe, I can catch him.

I call.

He, fortunately, stopped by the old house for something and was about 10 minutes from my place. I asked if he had a key to my house on him and he did. Hallelujah! I asked him if he would mind stopping by my house and turning on my crock pot for me. He laughed, I suppose it is a strange request, but he agreed to do it. He said he’d do it and call if there was a problem. About 40 minutes later, he called. We did a little phone tag to connect but I got him on the line. He said he turned it on low, and made sure it was plugged in but there wasn’t a light or anything that came on. I assured him it doesn’t have a light and he just had to turn it on. He said it wasn’t warm, I said it takes a minute or two. He checked it again and said, yes, it was now starting to warm.

I thanked him, because, really, how great is he?

And that was that.

Dad saved my chicken.

AND, the best part is, since he turned it on, it FOR SURE won’t dry out!

Just the latest adventure of Super Dad, saving the world, one chicken dinner at a time.

6 thoughts on “Super Dad

  1. That is very cute that John the Dad saved the day. You’re very lucky to have him.
    Side note: I too, don’t have much time to cook chicken. I boil mine. Time depends on the size of the breasts (mine are usually large – ha) but it doesn’t take but 30 minutes and they’re usually nice and juicy (mine usually are – ha). Give it a try:-)

    • That, however, requires me to be home. The crockpot is easier because I can leave it and go to work, which, as you know, is my favorite pastime.

  2. Too funny! He called me to say he would be a little later than he thought because he had to go to your house and cook you dinner!

Leave a Reply

