Cameron Frye, This One’s For You

We interrupt our regularly scheduled not-blogging to bring you this funny story.

I need to start with this. I’ve been in a bad mood all week. Work stuff. Don’t want to talk about it. However, a series of emails with a friend (who has requested to remain nameless) culminated in the story I am about to tell you. This whole thing is so funny to me it completely turned my mood around. This is why you have friends. For this very situation.

So, this friend has been emailing me, just chatting, and she wanted me to relax, so she invited me on an outing, this Friday night. She is going to Movies in the Park with some friends. On Friday they are showing the classic, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, and this is truly an awesome movie. However, it’s like 55° outside and raining, and not supposed to be much better tomorrow, so I’m not really feeling like it is the season for this yet. But, more importantly, I have plans with Elena. Thus, I had to decline.

But, being me, I can’t just say no like a normal person. Instead, I wrote this.

“That sounds like fun. Truly. However, I think I will wait until, you know, SUMMER actually arrives before I do something like that. And I actually do have plans. I’m riding a float through downtown Chicago, singing Danke Schoen, so I’m pretty booked.”

*I* thought that it was super obvious that I was kidding.

She, however responded like this.

“Seriously? A float in Chicago? Have a blast with Elena.”

And.I.Died.

I laughed and laughed and laughed. Literally out loud, until I had tears in my eyes. I had several students ask me what is so funny and I told them and they all cracked up. (She doesn’t know that part, but they really did think it was funny).

Finally, I had to email her back and ask if she’s even seen the movie. She has, five times, according to her, but I think it just caught her in a weird moment and didn’t connect.

Totally happens. I feel like it happens to me all the time. But, in this case, I’m still smiling over it an hour later. And this friend reports that she is embarrassed to have missed the reference. She actually didn’t want me to blog this, which is why she is nameless. However, this story warms my heart and I want to remember it so I had to post it up here.

Please, friends, tell her in the comments that this is nothing to be embarrassed about, it’s a very funny story. And my quirky humor is probably to blame.

2 thoughts on “Cameron Frye, This One’s For You

  1. Dear Friend of Liv’s,
    I have seen that movie at least 20 times in my life. Maybe even 30 times, if you count just watching the first half. I had no idea what was funny about her saying that. I just thought I KNEW she wasn’t going to Chicago so it was strange at best. But Liv says strange things all the time. Then I got the joke. Then I wondered how many other ‘strange’ things she says that aren’t explained to me and I just don’t get them. Probably a lot. Furthermore, I didn’t even get the title until I read it again and went in to comment.

    Just be happy you cheered her up. I’ve been trying all week and failed, and you succeeded:-)
    Sincerely,
    Liv’s Friend (who often – feels like a shoe)

    • This could be my favorite comment of all time by you.

      It’s funny, clever, and so very you. Plus, “But Liv says strange things all the time” cracked me up. Only one person always gets my strangeness.

      Also, she’s probably confused who this Liv person is you keep talking about. You know that people outside of you and Elena and my family do.not.call me that, right?

      But I hope she reads your comment.

Leave a Reply

