Term Limits

Is the name of the first book by Vince Flynn. It is the only standalone title, the rest are part of the Mitch Rapp series. I’ve read every single book this man has written, I OWN every single book, and I’ve gone to hear him speak, I’ve met him at public events, and I have an autographed copy of one of his books.

It is pretty safe to say that Vince Flynn, a Twin Cities native, is one of my favorite authors. He is one of the few that I will wait on end to get the new book and then read it immediately once it comes out. He is also perhaps the only thing I have in common with my older brother, as he reads him too.

Vince died this morning, at the age of 47. That’s way, way too young for anyone to die. He was diagnosed with prostate cancer a couple years ago, which delayed the release of one of his books. It was how I found out.

Now, less than three years later, he is gone.

This is very sad for me. I am saddened to think of how many more stories he had to tell. Someone asked him in an interview recently if he had any plans to end the Mitch Rapp series. Vince said that he would keep writing those as long as people wanted to read them, he had that many ideas. Now we will never know. We’ll never get a sense of how Vince thought it should end. It will just….end.

I know the newest one was due out this year, in October. I just looked it up, it is, ironically, titledĀ The Survivor.

RIP Vince Flynn and know that I will certainly feel your loss.
photo

From the talk I went to.

And him, actually autographing MY copy.
photo

 

Leave a Reply

