Roller Derby

This past season of television, I was watching a show and they did an episode about roller derby girls. I honestly can’t remember what the show was. I remember thinking it was an odd thing to do a show about, but whatever. Then, a couple weeks later, Bones did an episode about roller derby. 

That caught me off guard. One was odd, but not strange. Two? In the same season? 

Then, a month or so later, Hawaii Five-0 did a roller derby episode. 

THREE shows I watch did episodes revolving around roller derby in the same season. That’s beyond bizarre. Is there some nationwide derby crazy going on that I don’t know about? 

I know roller derby has gained a cult following the past few years, but enough to deserve immortalization on not one, not two, but three prime time television shows?

Then, just last night, I was watching an episode of The Glades, which is a summer-only show from A&E. I adore this show. And that episode was about….roller derby!

I mean, seriously, what is going on? 

Now I am worried that if I watch something I’m going to have to spend an hour learning – again – what a jammer does, and trying not to give myself a headache from the wannabe funny puns that serve as derby girl names. 

Sigh. 

I used to want to go and see a roller derby match. Honestly. I’m over it. I hope that television writers are, too. 

Leave a Reply

