Books, Books, Books – July Edition

Thinking back, I had a holiday, family picnic, birthday, celebration, and sub shifts in July. It was a busy month. Yet, somehow I managed to fit in a LOT of reading. Probably the beautiful weather. For some reason, the weather cooled down, giving us balmy days in the high 70s, plenty of sunshine and almost no humidity. It was glorious. With weather like that I can’t help but be outside. There were nights I was outside and it was growing so dark I was trying to squeeze in “just one last chapter” by the light of my citronella candles. Granted, there is nothing stopping me from going inside and reading in the light, I just enjoy reading outside so very much. And I don’t like to interrupt when the book is good.

Ready for the results?

July (26 books)

Did you catch that? No, not kidding….I read 26 books this month. Here they are.

1. The Bride – Julie Garwood*

2. The Wedding – Julie Garwood*

3. Ransom – Julie Garwood*

4. Gods Behaving Badly – Marie Phillips

5. Miracle – Elizabeth Scott

6. The Son of Neptune – Rick Riordan*

7. The Mark of Athena – Rick Riordan*

8. Starcrossed – Josephine Angelini

9. Stranger in the Moonlight – Jude Deveraux

10. Dreamless – Josephine Angelini

11. Goddess – Josephine Angelini

12. Ain’t She Sweet – Susan Elizabeth Phillips*

13. Breathing Room – SEP*

14. Match Me If You Can – SEP*

15. MacRieve – Kresley Cole

16. Inferno – Dan Brown

17. Awaken – Meg Cabot

18. Touch of Enchantment – Teresa Medeiros*

19. The Wizard of Seattle – Kay Hooper*

20. Perfect Timing – Catherine Anderson

21. Natural Born Charmer – SEP*

22. The Adoration of Jenna Fox – Mary E. Pearson

23. Heaven Can’t Wait – Pamela Clare

24. Bridesmaid Lotto – Rachel Astor

25. Gamble on Engagement – Rachel Astor

26. The Wedding Wager – Rachel Astor

There you go, the complete list. 15 new books and 11 repeats. I honestly found 15 new and interesting books to read, but it still wasn’t enough. I had to keep digging into my stash. I pulled out some of my greatest hits this month; and it was fabulous. I started out with The Bride/The Wedding by Julie Garwood, two of my favorite books ever. I have read them so many times I can almost quote them. But I keep reading them, over and over, reminding myself why I still consider Julie Garwood one of my favorite authors, even though she hasn’t written anything I’ve loved in years. Which reminds me she has a new one out in August.

The best thing I read this month would probably be numbers 8, 10, and 11. The Goddess trilogy by Angelini. I picked up the first (I read them in order) by chance and just sucked it down. It was captivating. I had to wait a whole day for the next one so I read something in between, but then I plowed through the next two. Unlike many trilogies, this did not drop off from one to the next. It kept my attention all the way through. Great teen trilogy if you like mythology, which I do.

Worst thing I read? Hm, that would have to be #5. This was a book I found during a preview (an email I get) and it seemed so interesting. So I got the book and, it was decidedly NOT interesting. Not a bad book, just incredibly boring. Nothing happened. 300 pages and nothing actually happened. The just kept rehashing the beginning, the mystery that interested me in the first place. Dull, dull, dull.

Most disappointing books I read? Those awards go to #15 and #20. Both continuations on long standing series that I LOVE and own every book in each series. #15 is the 14th book in the series. I look forward to the new one coming out every year. This one was just a DUD. Not terrible, just not great. I read it, but it just wasn’t interesting or captivating. Such a disappointment when you look forward to a book that much.  Then #20, which is the 11th book in its series. Hers usually come out annually, but she started a new series. So the last book in the series came out in 2010. Three years ago! I was so excited for this book, it should be the last one, and she made us wait for it. Then….wow. She took such a weird turn with this book I kept turning pages and saying (out loud) “WHAT?” It was so….ODD. That is the only word for it. I didn’t hate it, and I actually kind of liked how it ended, but it was for sure my least favorite in the entire series.

Most surprising books I read? Number 4 and #24. #4 was a book recommendation from a blog I follow. I like mythology, as I said, so I picked it up. It was….almost shocking. Like about two pages in and suddenly I was shocked by what I was reading. Not necessarily in a good way. It was a very unusual book. It took me a good while to adjust to that, but once I did, I actually started to enjoy it. #24 was a free book on iTunes. Typically, free books are not popular and not very good. I will admit this was not a “good” book. The editing was AWFUL, I was actually distracted by the sheer volume of typos in this published book, but the content was so entertaining I didn’t care. This book made me laugh out loud so many times. The story is cheesy and obvious, but the lead character is so likable and funny that it made up for all other imperfections. I really didn’t expect to like this book enough to actually go out and BUY the next two in the trilogy, but I did. And I enjoyed them as well.

There you go. I know it was a long recap, but it was a LOT of books to get through this month. And for the grand total? I am up to 83 books on the year. That puts me on pace to finish 142 books on the year. That’s quite a leap…at the end of June, the pace would only get me 114.  Granted, I don’t expect the rest of the months to be like July, my pace had me on a book every single day of the month, save for five days.

But things are definitely getting interesting with only five months to go.

Leave a Reply

