Whole 30 – The End

If you never read about the Whole30 cleanse I was doing, you should do that now. I haven’t mentioned it much here on the blog, just an opener and now the closer.

Well, if you’re looking at a calendar, you’ll notice today is September 30, which means that I’m done. Okay, technically, I’m not done until after dinner tonight, but having lasted 30 days, I’m pretty confident in my ability to survive another couple hours.

How did it go?

I did it. Wholly, successfully, without cheating, for thirty straight days. I’m proud of myself. I don’t think it was super difficult, but it was certainly no picnic. I did have to make sacrifices and go without and I barely had a social life during this time, and I did it. I am so happy that I tried this and made positive choices for a straight month. Whenever I told people I was doing a cleanse they were all shocked that it lasted 30 days. I understand why, your body needs time to adjust to this new plan, but yeah, an entire month is a long time to do this.

How do I feel?

Um, fine. This is the part that disappoints me. The Whole30 brand claims “this will change your life”. It didn’t. Not really. It should have cured my acid reflux. It didn’t. It should have cured my headaches. It didn’t. I never had trouble sleeping, so that was not something I was anticipating. However, I will say that I get up much easier in the mornings. Even on less sleep than I need, I can still bounce out of bed. I had a great burst of energy toward the end of week 3/beginning of week 4, but that seems to have balanced itself out. Meaning, I’m feeling fairly normal – energy wise. I guess, honestly, I do probably feel a bit more energetic overall, but it’s a barely discernible change. Others probably wouldn’t be able to tell, I just feel differently on the inside.

I did lose weight. Now, this was not the point, but cutting out all sugar and fatty foods will likely have that side effect. For the curious, I lost 15 pounds in 30 days. I told Elena I couldn’t tell because none of my clothes fit differently, but then I tried on my new jeans and they are a size smaller than the old ones. I thought it was because they were a different style. But I put on my old ones this weekend and they were too big. As in, I could pull them off without unbuttoning them. So, that’s good, I guess.

Will I do it again?

I don’t know. I really don’t feel like it was as spectacular as advertised. Good for me? You bet. But eating sensibly, while still having a glass of milk with my dinner doesn’t seem that unreasonable. Having said that, maybe I might do it again to see if I get different results or better results or worse results. I suppose there are a lot of factors that contribute to the overall picture of health. Elena said she was considering trying it. I would love that. I’d love to hear results from someone I know to see if my findings are typical or if this was some sort of aberration. But, if I did start feeling sluggish or like my food was dragging me down, I wouldn’t hesitate to cut something out in the future. I just don’t know if I would cut out nearly everything at once.

I still have things to learn. As I add food back into my diet, I’ll see how I change and feel, so that could certainly affect what I eat in the future.

Bottom line?

It was a good experience. I found some terrific new recipes that I will eat regardless of whether I’m on the plan or not. I forced myself out of my comfort zone and that is always a positive thing for me. I cooked foods I’d never cooked before, I changed the way I’ve thought about many foods. I’m very glad I did this, but not a testimonial-writing convert. I think it’s a great idea and helped me understand my body and my habits more deeply and if I take my high expectations out of it, then that is more than enough. I am satisfied with what I did and how I succeeded.

What now?

My mom asked “what will you eat first?”

Honestly, this very question has consumed me for the past two weeks. The answer changed with my moods or the mention of some other previously verboten foods. This is a pretty good list of the things I missed.

Subway (yep, I really did, and will probably be the first thing I “eat out”)

Popcorn. I love popcorn and eat it all the time. I missed this desperately.

Ice cream. See popcorn, above. These are staple foods in my house.

Milk. I desperately missed my milk with dinner. Water’s great, but drink nothing but for a month and see if you don’t get sick of it…

Cheeseburger/French fries. This was my first “craving”. But I’m saving this until I know they are GOOD. No McDonalds for me. I want to go to a restaurant and have a great burger and fries.

That’s about it. I’m having popcorn tomorrow night, and a pop, which I will enjoy immensely, but then we’ll have to see.

So, I guess the answer to the question is actually “popcorn.” Who knew?

2 thoughts on “Whole 30 – The End

  1. * I know losing weight wasn’t the point but 15 lbs is great.
    @ You always impress me when you set your mind to something. I’m envious.
    % I can’t wait to see you again.
    ^ Glad beer is on the list. Sad mashed potatoes weren’t;-)
    ! I think making you more conscious of what you eat is life changing. I think you’ll notice it more now that you think.
    # Congratulations!
    $ Isn’t this so much more interesting than using numbers?

    • It is more interesting, but I still couldn’t help but notice you did SEVEN items.

      Thanks for the comments. Yes, 15 lbs is fantastic, and I’m happy that I did this. I just wished it were more….

Leave a Reply

