Books, Books, Books – September Edition

I know, right? I’m very prompt this month. Here it is, October 1 and I’m already posting my September books. It was a good, solid month for me. I felt like I should have had a lot of downtime for reading, because of my Whole30, but it didn’t really turn out that way. Plus, fall tv started, so that ate up some reading time.

In other news, I finally started NetGalley. I’ve had my eye on this for some time, but it’s one of those things that you don’t think about, until you do. NetGalley is a service for “professional readers” of which, librarians are included. You sign up and request Advance Reader Copies (ARC) of unpublished books. The publishers review your profile and if they wish, they send you an electronic copy. So, basically, I get free copies of books that haven’t yet been published, to read before anyone else.

Um, can you say “right up my alley?”

But, I learned something. Apparently, the books disappear at the end of the month. I was reading the final book on my list (which I’ll get to in a second) and had maybe 70 pages left….and this morning, the book is gone. Can’t access it anymore. Now I have to track it down elsewhere, just to see how it ends! But I did still count it, because it was mostly completed in September.

Ok, here we go.

September – (19 books)

1. Taken – Erin Bowman

2.  Grimoire of the Lamb – Kevin Hearne

3. The Selection – Kiera Cass

4. Embrace – Jessica Shirvington

5. The Elite – Kiera Cass

6. Entice – Jessica Shirvington

7. The Catastrophic History of You and Me – Jess Rothenberg

8. The Prince – Kiera Cass

9. Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl – Gina Lamm

10. Touch of Frost – Jennifer Estep

11. Kiss of Frost – Jennifer Estep

12. Dark Frost – Jennifer Estep

13. Crimson Frost – Jennifer Estep

14. Spartan Frost – Jennifer Estep

15. Onyx: A Lux Novel – Jennifer L. Armentrout

16. Midnight Frost – Jennifer Estep

17. Spider’s Bite – Jennifer Estep

18. The MacGregor Grooms – Nora Roberts*

19. Charming (Pax Arcana #1) – Elliott James

It was a good month, reading wise. I discovered the Mythos Academy series by Jennifer Estep (all the books with Frost in the title) and I just loved them. I also discovered the Selection series by Kiera Cass. These are books I had been seeing around and hearing about for a bit and I wasn’t interested. It’s like Hunger Games with princesses. But, when I saw the umpteenth review raving about them…I decided to try. If it was bad I wouldn’t finish it. So glad I did! They are actually very good. Not at all like Hunger Games, but more like The Bachelor.

Then there are Entice and Embrace by Jessica Shirvington. These are part of a series, the Violet Eden Chapters and I really loved them. I just, last night, picked up the next in the series. That’s three good series I came across in one month.

But, let’s not skip over Taken by Erin Bowman. It is a new release, part of a series. It’s dystopian, and incredibly interesting. I never could guess where she was going with the story, it was twist after turn after twist. I really liked it a lot.

And I read Onyx, the second in that series and also picked up the third last night. I never in a million years thought I’d like a book about aliens, but I sure do enjoy these.

The surprise hit of the month was The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg. This is a first novel by a new author. The title caught my interest and the premise was….interesting but odd. I read it and just loved it. It was not at all about what I expected. The story was poignant and funny and smart and very deep. I still find myself thinking about this book even weeks later.

My only real disappointment was Spider’s Bite by Jennifer Estep. She writes Mythos Academy, so I was psyched to try her adult series. It was not good. Not terrible, I finished it, but not something I would recommend or ever read any more.

Charming, by Elliott James, was my first NetGalley book and was a delightful surprise. It was one of the funnier books I’ve read. I laughed out loud more times than I can count. I kept sending Elena quotes because it made me laugh so much. She hasn’t read the book, so she was getting the quotes out of context and still thought they were funny. The story was not quite as compelling as I had hoped, but it was funny enough to make up for it. I’ll read the next one, for sure.

There you go, my complete September list. I am pretty excited for October because the next installment of some of my favorite series come out this month. Books I’ve been waiting on for over a year. My yearly total is now up to 124 books.

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Books, Books, Books – September Edition

    • I’ve fallen off a bit in October. Fall tv and all that. But don’t worry, you are pretty much set to win no matter what. You’re the only one left in the competition!

Leave a Reply

