Day of Friends

A few weeks ago, my mom got a phone call. A little voice asked when Simon was going to visit. Evidently Christian missed his friend and took the initiative to set up a play date. It was a lot of kids. Simon, Arionna, Camden, Victoria, Christian, and Brecken. The kids are all big enough now to go and just play, without being watched or entertained, so it’s pretty wonderful. Kelly and my mom and I just sat in the living room and talked, while cuddling on the babies.
photo

 The babies. They are only a month apart in age. They played and chilled. Auntie Livi got some good cuddle time:
photo

I call that one “Armful of Babies”.
Brecken and I were having fun practicing our clapping.
photo
photo

We fed the babies lunch, I gave Brecken his first macaroni and cheese. It was nostalgic, because I fed Christian his first cheeseburger. Evidently I have a thing for giving babies their first taste of forbidden foods. Brecken is sitting in my family’s antique high chair, my father’s family has used that since before my dad was born (and dad is about to be 60!) there aren’t any straps or anything, we use a towel to tie the baby into the chair. Kelly thought it was awesome and took a picture to send to Mark.
It was such a fun day and great to spend time with all the kids together. Before our friends left, I was insistent upon getting a photo of all six kids together.
Here’s how it went. First, the boys wanted to hold the babies. The girls were disappointed.
photo

Arionna won’t smile and Victoria is on the fringes. But all four boys look great.
Try again.
photo

Now Victoria has moved closer but her hands are in her face. Arionna still won’t smile. Christian’s smile is fading, but what I like is that he is looking directly at me, while every other child has shifted their focus to Kelly.
Take 3:
photo

We have now shifted the babies to the girls. Cam is still being a champ, looking and smiling. Brecken is doing his own thing. Victoria is no longer visible. Christian is still maintaining solid eye contact with me but we’ve lost Simon and still no smile from Arionna.
Take 4:
photo

Probably my favorite outtake. Victoria, sweetie, what are you doing? Arionna finally cracked a smile, but it’s aimed at Kelly. The big boys, while being wonderful during this whole thing are clearly fading. The smiles are more forced and less pronounced. I think Brecken is screaming at me to stop with the pictures already. But Cam…still a smiling champ.
Take 5:
photo

Honestly, as far as it goes, this one isn’t bad. If I had had to settle for it, I would have been okay. You still can’t really see Victoria, no one is looking the same direction, and Christian has completely resolved to stop smiling. But, the two babies look fabulous. I know they are tired of this, all of them.
And so I said “one more” thinking I probably had something workable. I did not (see evidence above), so I am glad I took that one last photo.
photo

When it comes to getting SIX kids, ages 7 and under, including two infants, to look and smile for the same picture, I think this is well beyond as good as it gets. It’s sweet, they all look happy, everyone is (mostly) smiling. I’m very happy with this photo. There’s nothing quite like seeing the children you love all gathered in one place.
Thanks to our wonderful friends for giving us their Saturday. We should definitely try to manage it more than once a year!
4 thoughts on “Day of Friends

  1. 1. Thanks for having us.
    2. Ummm, best way to spend a Saturday ever. Or was it a Sunday. EIther way, but way to spend a day.
    3. Cutest kids ever. Kuddos to Kelly and Emily.
    4. Aunt Extraodinaire.
    5. I was nervous with the baby in the antique chair. I’m a freak! You tied my baby up with a towel….you cave people!
    5. Brecken said he totally loved being tied up with a towel. Go figure.
    6. Thanks again for having us.

    • 1. Thanks for coming
      2. It was a Saturday and yes, it was the best way ever.
      3. Damn, those are cute kids!
      4. Obviously
      5. Brecken DID like it. And towels are a tried and true method, branch out, live a little

      Also, I am stopping at 5. And did you do two 5s on purpose?

    • With you, it’s so hard to know. A. You might have been trying to annoy me B. You might have made a typo C. You might have been making a point D. You might have changed your mind and edited the list without changing the numbers E. You might have been testing me to see if I would catch it.

      How is a girl supposed to know?

      But yes, my instinct is that you did it on purpose to connect your comment to Brecken’s.

Leave a Reply

