2013 Books Recap

….and the winner is!

Kelly won. That’s not super surprising, right? I mean, I think we all knew that a few months ago. Kel, pick a topic and I’ll write you the blog of your choice, that’s your prize. Or, if you don’t want that prize, tell me what you do want. I’m pretty flexible.

Here are the stats from the year.

Total number of books read: 155

Average number of books read per month: 12.91

Average number of books read per week: 2.98

Month with the most books read: July (26 books)

Month with the least books read: March (5 books)

Best book I read in 2013: Endless Knight by Kresley Cole. This was no contest. But, if I had to pick a second place….I’d choose Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.

Worst book I read in 2013: This was harder…I’m going with Spider’s Bite by Jennifer Estep, of which I had zero expectations, it was just a bad book.

Total number of NEW books read: 128

Total number of rereads: 27

Total number of standalone books (does not occur in a series) read (including rereads): 35

Best new series: I have to choose the Iron Druid Chronicles by Kevin Hearne, but honorable mention to the Covenant Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout and the Mythos Academy series by Jennifer Estep (yes, the same author as the worst book of the year, good for her.)

Most surprising book: Even my answer to this surprises me. Allegiant by Veronica Roth.

Biggest disappointment: Losing Hope, Colleen Hoover by the slimmest of margins over Fly Away by Kristin Hannah.

And my final thoughts? This was FUN. I don’t know if it was fun for all of my readers, but it sure was fun for me. I came in 10 books shy of my own guess (165) so I’m pretty happy with that. I guess I know my reading habits pretty well after all these years. Mostly, I just love having these lists. It’s nice to be able to look back and see what I read, and my thoughts on it.

Also, if you want to see them, here’s the complete set of links to the monthly lists:

January

February

March

April

May

June

July

August

September

October

November

December

Okay, fine friends and readers, that is the final wrap for 2013. I will be doing this again for 2014. Take a moment and hit up the comments section with a guess as to how many books I’ll read in 2014. Let’s try for more than three guesses this year! You have a whole year of information now, I expect some stiff competition!

4 thoughts on “2013 Books Recap

  1. Yippee Yippee Yay! What was my guess? You didn’t say how close I was. You really read a lot. That doesn’t surprise me. What does, is how much you REread. I mean I know “good readers reread” (That’s my catch phrase at school;-) but good grief! I’ve probably reread maybe 4 books ever. I bet you think that’s crazy! The only thing I could think about blogging you’ve already done. Because you’ve written some AMAZING bogs about me. Really what I want is to hang out with you. Your time. That’s what I want. Know why? You’re my BFF girl!
    PS I love winning! 😉

    • Good readers DO reread. No doubt about it. I actually usually reread a lot more, I was surprised by how little I reread last year. Why do you think I have all those books? They aren’t just decoration you know….

      And we can hang out anyway. But if that’s what you want, that’s what you get. Get your guess in for 2014!

  2. Since you’re not responding I found the original post and comments. I was only 4 books off. Damn, I’m good. I see the U closed morning classes. Globe following suit? I accidentally texted you this evening when I found out WBL has school all day when the rest of the districts are shut down:( Nuts!

Leave a Reply

