January Books

Here we go! Our first edition of books for 2014. I’ve been intending to get this up for about, oh, 10 days now, but I’ve been busy nagging people into guessing. Last year, four people guessed. This year…..36! Granted, Kelly had her entire second grade class guess (at my request, after I met them and we talked about books and reading), but still, it is WAY more exciting to have a lot of guesses than a little.

Immediately following this post, I will summarize the guesses in a post, to make it easier at the end of the year.

I had a super slow start to January, I was super busy that month, so, believe me, no one was more surprised than me at how many  books I read. I actually didn’t read a book until January 8th. I know, completely crazy.

January: (15 books)

1. The Professional: Pt. 1 – Kresley Cole^

2. The Professional: Pt. 2 – Kresley Cole^

3. Blue By You – Rachel Gibson^

4. Foreplay: The Ivy Chronicles – Sophie Jordan^

5. Tangled – Emma Chase^

6. Waking Up Married – Mira Lyn Kelly^

7. Picnic – William Inge

8. Dark Desires After Dusk – Kresley Cole*

9. Kiss of a Demon King – Kresley Cole*

10. Tempest – Julie Cross

11. Burning Sky – Sherry Thomas^

12. The Professional: Pt. 3 – Kresley Cole^

13. Tangled Up In You – Rachel Gibson^

14. Vortex – Julie Cross

15. Timestorm – Julie Cross

A quick guide to my symbols. * Denotes a book that is a reread. The new symbol this year is ^, which denotes a book I read digitally. I noticed last year, after I got my iPad, that I am now reading considerably more digitally. I still VASTLY prefer reading a book, but sometimes, if I really want to read something, or if I’m on a wait list at the library, or if, as it has been, it’s just too freaking cold to go to the library, I will get it digitally. So I decided that would be interesting to know this year.

The Professional was an eBook, released as a three part series, only digitally, so I had no choice there, though I hear they are planning to release it as a book later this year. Kresley Cole is one of my favorite authors, I read her voraciously, so I was super excited to see her new book. IT.WAS.TERRIBLE. Easily a contender, already, for worst book of the year. And she is the author of 2013’s Best Book, Endless Knight. Go figure.

I actually reread two of her old books just to get the taste of that bad book out of my mind.

Other interesting things. Tangled, by Emma Chase, was chosen as a Goodread’s pick for best romance of 2013. So, obviously, I read it. One of the worst romances I have ever read. It made me wonder if these readers have EVER read a romance before. It is also a contender for worst book of the year. (Speaking of romances, Blue By You, and Waking Up Married were also pretty bad….a terrible month for romance books, for me).

But luckily, I read Foreplay, by Sophie Jordan. She’s a historical author I’ve always enjoyed, and this is her first foray into contemporary. I adored this book. It was fun and smart and sexy. I cannot wait for the next installment, to see if it was a one off, or if this will become a favored series. And I found it free for purchase, so that is why it was digital.

Picnic is a play. First play I’ve read since recording…didn’t read one last year. Not a big fan of reading plays actually, I get too distracted trying to visualize it in my head, instead of enjoying the story. But since this story was stupid….

Burning Sky is by one of my favorite historical romance authors. Sherry Thomas writes historical romance that is smart and fun and not tripe, which is hard for most historical authors. Then she took a turn and wrote this…an historical, supernatural, fantasy? It was interesting. Not great, but not terrible. I’d read the next one, but if she doesn’t knock it out of the park, I’ll assume that romance is her forté.

And that brings us to a new trilogy that I found completely by accident. It sounded unique, so I got it, Tempest. And it was awesome. Hard to follow at times, but once I stopped trying, I enjoyed the story so much I couldn’t wait to read the other two. Timestorm, the final installment, just came out in January. I really enjoyed all three. It did not go at all the way I expected off the first book and I liked that. Would recommend this to anyone who likes teen fiction, science fiction, romance, adventure, and time travel. It’s a pretty versatile trilogy.

Alrightythen, that was more in depth than usual, but I decided that if I’m going to do this, it might as well be useful as a sort of reader’s advisory. It was a weird month, January, 15 books in 23 days and most of them were terrible. Makes me wonder what the rest of the year will hold!

Total: 15 books, obviously. This is five ahead of last year’s January total. Currently on pace to read 180 books for the year.

2 thoughts on “January Books

  1. I’ve been meaning to ask you if you read digitally or not. I thought maybe you would refuse to move to digital books, ya know, since you won’t even text that much 😉 Maybe you would feel like you are cheating the books Gods lol Idk I’m impressed tho!!

    • That’s funny. I prefer printed books, but sometimes, digital is just more convenient. And now that I have an iPad, it’s even MORE convenient. I’m not anti technology, not at all. I don’t like texting, that’s for sure. I’d just rather you call. Well, except you, your texts are adorable. But you can call whenever you like!

      I highly doubt I’ll ever stop reading in print (have you ever noticed the widget on my blog that says “I Pledge to Read the Written Word”?) to me, it more important THAT you read, rather than HOW you read.

Leave a Reply

