March Books

Remember last March? I only read five books the entire month. In fact, it was my lowest reading month of the year. I was concerned for this year, going in, because the guesses are so much higher this year. But I still have to live a life, even while reading books. So, imagine my surprise when I read…and read some more….and read some more, and couldn’t stop reading in March. I was cramming in reading sessions like it was going out of style, which was especially weird because I didn’t have much new to read.

In fact, my rereads were out of control this month.

Let’s get to it, shall we?

March (19 books)

1. The False Prince – Jennifer A. Nielsen

2. The Runaway King – Jennifer A. Nielsen

3. Beastly – Alex Flinn^

4. Cloaked – Alex Flinn^

5. The Shadow Throne – Jennifer A. Nielsen

6. Addicted to Love – Lori Wilde

7. Wallbanger – Alice Clayton^

8. Suddenly Royal – Nichole Chase^

9. The Cowboy and the Princess – Lori Wilde^

10. Can’t Buy Me Love – Molly O’Keefe^

11. Sugar Daddy – Lisa Kleypas*

12. Heaven, Texas – Susan Elizabeth Phillips (SEP)*

13. Dream a Little Dream – SEP*

14. Blue Eyed Devil – Lisa Kleypas*

15. Killer Frost – Jennifer Estep

16. Smooth Talking Stranger – Lisa Kleypas*

17. Lothaire – Kresley Cole*

18. Remember When – Judith McNaught*

19. Shadow’s Claim – Kresley Cole*

19 books on the month, 7 of which were rereads. 6 of which were digital. The best thing I read was the Ascension Trilogy (False Prince, Runaway King, Shadow Throne) It’s very good, addicting and thrilling. Great boys read books, appropriate for maybe 5th grade and up? A good reader, maybe 4th grade.

Also Killer Frost, this was the final installment in the Mythos Academy series that I started and tore through last year. It was good, perfectly fine, but not quite as thrilling as the previous ones. I did, however, like the solution she came up with to the question haunting the heroine for the past several books. It was clever.

Suddenly Royal is a great chick lit read. Easy to read and enjoyable. I’ll read the others when they come out.

The Lori Wilde books were not great and the Molly OKeefe was just bad.

I liked Beastly by Alex Flinn (a modern retelling of Beauty and the Beast) but hated Cloaked (a bunch of unknown fairy tales retold together in one book. When I started it, I thought it was a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood. I was very wrong and very disappointed).

Wallbanger…was probably the most surprising book of the year. It’s a terrible premise (seriously, girl meets boy because they are neighbors and she can hear his headboard banging on her wall every night as he has sex), but it got great reviews. I was skeptical, but picked it up anyway. And, I liked it. It was smart. Smarter than the premise lets on. And it was funny and the story surprisingly poignant.

And I was out of things to read after that, so I turned to some old standbys. I just couldn’t stop reading last month. Sometimes it goes like that, it just gets under my skin.

The total on the year?

46 books.  On pace for 184.

A funny thing I noted, last year, it was the middle of MAY before I had reached 46 books, that is quite a lead that I’ve built up this year. Plus it is starting to slowly warm up (she says as it is supposed to snow tomorrow) so pretty soon I’ll be able to read outside again. Even better, I bought a hammock swing for my patio for this year. If it is as comfortable as it is supposed to be (it’s not up yet) then I might quit my job and sit there for three months, reading and swinging. Sounds like heaven to me!

Leave a Reply

