June Books

Last month I ended by telling you that I was four for four in reading books in June. One a day. As I was typing that, I thought to myself, I wonder if I could actually read a book a day? I’ve never done that for a month. At least not purposefully, and not that I recall. Then I decided that was unrealistic. I can’t expect to read a book every single day. But what if I set a goal of 30 books in 30 days? That way, I could read two on a couple days or whatever. It seemed a long shot, but I like having goals. Last year, the month I read the most books was July and it was 26 books. That’s insane. That is almost one a day and it was the highest total by several books. So stretching that by four books? Seemed pretty high, but again, it’s good to have goals.

And so it continued. I read. And somehow, I kept finding books. Books I was interested in. Plus, my mindset was different. We had awesome weather in June. Warm and sunny, but with many rainy days (rain is good for reading) which brought in cooler air and made for better reading conditions. My new swing is officially broken in. I read and read and read and read. If you asked me in June “what are you doing?” my answer was probably “reading”. There was still stuff going on. But I read every chance I got.

How many of you (besides my mom who knows the answer) actually think I managed 30 books in 30 days?

Well, no suspense here. I did not.

I actually read THIRTY TWO books in June. Yes, more than a book a day in the month. Yes, it’s crazy. Yes, I may well be crazy, too.

June: (32 books)

1. The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld) – Gena Showalter^

2. All Lined Up – Cora Carmack^

3. The Darkest Kiss (LU) – Gena Showalter^

4. The Perfect Match – Kristan Higgins^

5. The Darkest Pleasure (LU) – Gena Showalter^

6. The Darkest Whisper (LU) – Gena Showalter^

7. The Darkest Passion (LU) – Gena Showalter^

8. The Darkest Lie (LU) – Gena Showalter^

9. The Darkest Secret (LU) – Gena Showalter^

10. Down To You – M. Leighton^

11. The Fault in our Stars – John Green^

12. Beautiful Disaster – Jamie McGuire^

13. The Next Best Thing – Kristan Higgins

14. Recklessly Royal – Nichole Chase^

15. Up To Me – M. Leighton^

16. Hexed – Michelle Krys^

17. Hex Hall – Rachel Hawkins

18. Demonglass – Rachel Hawkins

19. Spell Bound – Rachel Hawkins

20. School Spirits – Rachel Hawkins

21. The Darkest Surrender (LU) – Gena Showalter^

22. Why Do Men Have Nipples?  – Mark Leyner and Billy Goldberg

23. The Darkest Seduction (LU) – Gena Showalter^

24. The Darkest Craving (LU) – Gena Showalter^

25. Wicked Nights (Angels of the Dark) – Gena Showalter^

26. Beauty Awakened (AD) – Gena Showalter^

27. Burning Dawn (AD) – Gena Showalter^

28. Outlander – Diana Gabaldon

29. Geek Girls Don’t Date Dukes – Gina Lamm^

30. Good Girls Don’t – Victoria Dahl^

31. Bad Boys Do – Victoria Dahl^

32. Real Men Will – Victoria Dahl^

Whew. That’s a lot of books. And, for the record, I’d like credit for a couple extra. Because one of the books I read, as you can see, was Outlander. My paperback copy is 875 pages long. Nearly NINE HUNDRED pages. That’s like reading three books, I think. It took me just over seven hours to read that book. And the kicker is? I didn’t like it. I mean, it was okay in the beginning, kind of interesting, but I couldn’t imagine what she could keep writing about for like 8 more books (it’s a series and no, I won’t be reading the others, plus, they are ALL that long). But then, it just got….stupid. but at that point, I was like 300 pages in, so I couldn’t quit. I hoped it would get better. It didn’t. It got worse actually. Please, if you’ve read this book and love it like so many others, tell me why. I don’t get it. Perhaps, though if I had read it when I was 15…I probably would have gone gaga for it then, maybe. But, wow. Hard to believe that is an internationally beloved series.

Also, my personal thanks to Gena Showalter for getting me through this month. Her Lords of the Underworld series, which I had never read, came highly recommended (by strangers on the internet) so I tried it. I didn’t love it, but these are easy as hell to read. Like empty calories, super easy to consume. So I flew through that whole series, the new one comes out later this summer. We meet all the characters in book one and I immediately had a favorite and waited for his book. And, of course, he’s the one that isn’t out yet. So later this summer I will tackle that one. The Angels of the Dark is a spinoff series. I actually liked those better, the stories were deeper.

What else?

Loved the contemporaries from Victoria Dahl. Super cute and fun. Hated Beautiful Disaster. Did not like that one at all. Actually felt off a little after reading it. Hexed was a brand new book, out this year. I got it and read it. It was great. I liked it a lot. So I thought “hm, why don’t I read witchcraft books for teens?” and I did a search and the first one to pop up was Hex Hall. And…..I own that book. I bought it years ago, on a whim, and somehow never read it. So I did. And loved it. so I plowed through that series and adored the whole thing. Great.

Why Do Men Have Nipples? Yeah. How many of you thought that was weird? It was. It’s this slim little paperback non-fiction book written by a doctor. I came across it while cleaning my library. It answers weird medical questions like the title. Or “does beer before liquor never been sicker” actually work? I opened it and read the whole thing. It was strange but informative.

I also read The Fault in our Stars, finally. I’d kind of been avoiding it. I hate super popular books. But I do like John Green. But mom and I were going to the movie, so I read it first. And made her read it, too. It was fine. Different than I expected. Surprising even. But I was a little unclear on what people raved about. I actually liked the movie more than I liked the book, which was rare. The movie was well done and beautifully casted, except for Willem Dafoe. He was all wrong. It was jarring actually, how wrong he was.

And that’s it. That’s my overwhelming June wrapup. My total on the year is now 109. I did not hit 109 last year until the middle of September, so I am WAY ahead this year. On pace to read 218 books. I trust it will slow down some in July…though we shall see, with any luck there shall be some big changes afoot.

2 thoughts on “June Books

Leave a Reply

