September Books

Ah, sweet September. Usually one of my favorite months of the year in which to read. Lots of good books coming out, beautifully perfect weather, time on my hands….and almost none of that was true this year. The weather changed drastically, toward the chill, very little came out that I deigned to read, and I have rarely had less time on my hands. Plus, well, the book slump. But then, in the latter half of the month, life evened out and I started reading again. Imagine my surprise to find that when all was said and done, I finished a perfectly respectable 16 books this month. Let’s take a look at them, shall we?

September: (16 books)

1. Looking for Trouble – Victoria Dahl

2. Heroes Are My Weakness – Susan Elizabeth Phillips

3. Undeniable – Shannon Richard^

4. The Wicked Wallflower – Maya Rodale^

5. The Bad Boy Billionaire’s Wicked Arrangement – Maya Rodale^

6. Wallflower Gone Wile – Maya Rodale^

7. The Bad Boy Billionaire’s Girl Gone Wild – Maya Rodale^

8. The Bad Boy Billionaire’s What a Girl Wants – Maya Rodale^

9. Love and Other Scandals – Caroline Linden^

10. It Takes a Scandal – Caroline Linden^

11. The Prince Who Loved Me – Karen Hawkins

12. The Infinite Sea – Rick Yancey

13. Magisterium: The Iron Trial – Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

14. Loving a Lost Lord – Mary Jo Putney^

15. When Harry Met Molly – Kieran Kramer^

16. Loving Lady Marcia – Kieran Kramer^

And there you go. What was interesting this month? Well, I did read The Infinite Sea, Rick Yancey’s sequel to The 5th Wave. My friend Lisa is really into these books. I think it is an interesting story. I liked the story better after this one, it was definitely more interesting. My issue was it jumped around a lot and contained many more viewpoints, so it didn’t hold my attention as much. But, overall, I’m excited for the conclusion. Magisterium is an interesting new series, it is written jointly by two authors. I like Cassandra Clare’s books and have never read Holly Black. The series is about a young boy who goes to school to become a mage. But he doesn’t want to, for many reasons and is forced to go anyway. Then some things happen….it was good. If the next one holds up, it would be a series I’d recommend to Harry Potter fans or Percy Jackson fans (I’m in the latter group).

Heroes Are My Weakness. Ah, SEP, you are one of my go-to authors for a good contemporary read. This, your newest book, is a standalone, and I was excited to meet new characters. It.Was.Horrible. On the list for one of the worst books of the year. I was so disappointed in this book that thinking about it makes me want to cry.

And then let’s talk about Maya Rodale, an author I had never read. Her first historical romance on this list, The Wicked Wallflower, was sent to me as a sample from a service to which I subscribe. As I was looking for an historical romance at the time, it caught my attention. The premise was cute. So I read it. Only to find she wrote a companion series, The Bad Boy Billionaire, which is the same plot, using different characters, told in a contemporary setting. Huh. Never imagined something like that. Then, in another twist, each of the three books parallels the other, but the historical trilogy (the final of which I have not yet read as it came out today…) are three different sets of characters, while the contemporary is one set of characters set over three books. So many twists and turns, I was fascinated. This is now a contender for best series of the year. She is not the best writer, lots of grammatical errors and typos and some plot holes, but the story she does tell is compelling enough to convince me to overlook the other flaws. I’m excited for the finale.

And the other books were fine this month. Nothing earth shattering. I was so relieved to get back into reading. By September 20 I had only read 3 books, so I was concerned, but I managed 13 more in the final 10 days of the month (thank God for the gorgeous weather last weekend!). My total count on the year is 171 books, which puts me on pace to master 228 books on the year. With only three months left to go and them being very busy months, I’m thinking it won’t get that high, but I feel good about an even 200. We shall see.

P.S. I am posting this at just before 5 pm on 9/30. Technically I have seven more hours in which I could read another book, but since I’m watching the kids for Em and Chad’s anniversary today, I’m just doubting that will happen. But, if it does, I’ll update accordingly.

2 thoughts on “September Books

  1. Only you could be completely honest in saying, “It’s 5:00 so there’s still a chance I could read a book.” That cracks me up!

    • Honestly, once the kids were asleep, I actually considered reading, but decided the combination of finding a comfortable spot at my sister’s house, plus having to update the blog was too much work, so I just watched tv. True story.

Leave a Reply

