I Had a Dream

Last night, I had the strangest dream. I’m going to break it down here. From what I remember, some stuff was happening and I was out on the town drinking with some friends. However, they weren’t my actual friends, except Elena. Lane was there, she was driving….until she got drunk. Along with our other friends. One of these friends was the actor Wood Harris, which is odd, because if I was going to imagine myself drinking with an actor…well I can think of a few (*cough* Christian Kane) I’d pick before him. But he was there. As was another male actor. Unfortunately, my brain is not accessing that information at the moment, so I can’t tell you who it was.

Okay, so the four of us, me, Lane, Wood, and guy I can’t remember, are out on the town. They decide to get Elena drunk. It works. Now I have to drive. This is fine. Except, apparently it was my birthday. After the bar closed, I decided we were detouring to Dairy Queen. I’m fairly certain there are no 24 hour DQs in the world, but whatever, we went to the drive through at DQ at 2am. In the dream, I was suddenly holding a Dilly Bar in my right hand. Meanwhile, my three drunk compatriots started getting rowdy in the backseat. They were yelling and swearing and cursing and causing a general ruckus. I was trying to calm them down, but it wasn’t working. I couldn’t even hear the guy who was trying to take my order. There were cars in line behind us and they were honking because it was taking so long for us to order, because i couldn’t hear. Then I noticed the Dilly Bar was gone and I was just holding the stick in my hand. I was staring down at my hand, holding that stick, while apologizing profusely to the poor kid who worked at Dairy Queen. I kept trying to order, but the drunks wouldn’t let me. Finally, I heard the DQ guy say that we were just too out of control and he was refusing to serve us. Yep, I got kicked out of Dairy Queen in my own dream.

Well, at that, the rabble rousers in the back seat went ballistic. Wood Harris jumped out of the car and put his face right up to the speaker and was cursing at DQ guy and telling him that it was my birthday and how can he not give me ice cream. And I felt ashamed. We were the ones in the wrong. Well, not me, but the crazies I was carting around. So I got out of the car, still holding the Dilly Bar stick in my hand and I starting hollering at Wood and finally, I got him to shut up and get back in the car. I ordered silence from the back seat, and, for once, they listened. Actually, Lane started giggling, but they were mostly quiet.

As I stared at the stick in my hand, it suddenly seemed like the most important thing in the world for me to throw it away. Like the fact of throwing it away would make up for the bad behavior. None of this makes any sense, but in the dream it became imperative for me to throw that away. I drove forward through the line and up to the window where I apologized to the DQ boy and gave him a $20 and asked him to buy ice cream for the people behind us as an apology for this whole event.

And just like that, I was awake. I know, you’re thinking, “okay, it was a slightly humorous and a little odd, but why would this warrant sharing on the blog?” Was I close? I bet at least a couple of you were thinking that.

Here’s why.

I jerked out of that dream and I was awake. Dreams rarely wake me, but this one did. In those few moments between sleep and full wakefulness, I was disoriented to find myself suddenly sitting up on the edge of my bed. My instinct was that I had to use the bathroom, that’s usually the only thing that wakes me in the middle of the night, but then full wakefulness hit. I canted my head to the right and saw on the clock it was 2:47am. I was sitting up, on the edge of the bed and I realized that I did not have to use the bathroom. So, what woke me? It was then I realized my right hand was curled up as though I was holding something. I was not. But I had this feeling….

And the dream came crashing back. Evidently, the feeling in the dream that if I just threw away the stick, I could right those wrongs, it stuck with me. It was so strong and powerful that it woke me up with the feeling I needed to get out of bed to throw away something that existed only in my dreams. The whole thing was so bizarre, there was no connection from my life to that dream, but there was such power that it carried me between both realms. I’ve never experienced anything like that before. I wish I knew what it meant or why that occurred, but all I can say was I sat for a few minutes, just breathing and thinking about the dream and then I opened my right hand and let it go.

I curled back up in my bed and drifted back into slumber for the remainder of the night.

Leave a Reply

