2015 Books Recap

When I realized I hadn’t blogged my monthly book lists since last March, I was so disappointed because I need those lists to write THIS POST. I love this post. I so look forward to tallying and creating statistics about my reading habits. I mean, could I be a bigger nerd?

So, as to the winning….it was actually Elena (who is on a winning streak lately! Quick, Lane, go buy just one more PowerBall!) Who guessed 178. Everyone else was over 200. My personal goal was 175, but I can’t win my own contest, so Lane…congrats!

This year, forget it. If you’d still like to guess in the comments, just for fun, go ahead, but it’s more about the excitement, than a contest.

And….on to the tallying!

****************************************

2015 Statistics

Total number of books read in 2015: 136 (30% decrease from 2014)

Average number of books read per month: 11.3

Average number of books read per week: 2.6

Month with the most books read: This goes to July and her 29 books

Month with the least books read: Tie! February and May both with only 4 books read

Best Book I read in 2015: This was a challenge. Lots of truly great books this year. But ultimately, the winner went to a book that moved me and hasn’t left my head since I read it.

Everything I Left Unsaid by M. O’Keefe.

This book was a surprise, a delight, and just blew me away. I’m waiting for it to fade from my brain so that I can read it again.

Runners up for best book in 2015: (in no order)

The Truth About Him by M. O’Keefe – the sequel to the best book, nearly as good as the winner this year.

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black – this was a sweet and fantastical little tale that I did not expect to like as much as I did.

The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – This one was hugely talked about after it debuted, and I had already read and loved it. Amazing dystopian story with a new twist.

Confess by Colleen Hoover – I loved this book a lot and it probably would have won except I’ve already read her new book this year and it’s so much better than this one that this one dropped a little in my estimation. Not really fair but since she may well win next year….

The Heir by Keira Cass – boy, did I not expect to like this as much as I did. Spinoff series are a tricky thing and making this about the CHILD of the couple we loved in the previous series? That’s a bold move. And yet, I liked this more than the first series.

Sweet Ruin by Kresley Cole – I wonder if I year could go by that she doesn’t make this list? Her IAD books have been such a disappointment lately, I feel because she splits her focus too much, and then she smacked me with this. My second favorite in the series behind Lothaire.

Neanderthal Seeks Human by Penny Reid – This won best series and deservedly so, but this was easily a contender for best book of the year.

First & Then by Emma Mills – This was not a book I expected to love, and yet, I adored it. These runners up are not in any order and truly, this might have been my second favorite book of the year.

Worst Book I read in 2015: Would you believe that there was only one contender? The dishonor goes to Brown-Eyed Girl by Lisa Kleypas. I mentioned in the monthly post that this is the final book in a four book series. The first three being Sugar Daddy, Blue-Eyed Devil and Smooth Talking Stranger….which are FANTASTIC stories. Then she let SIX years go by before she finished the series and somehow gave us a completely crap book. This book makes me sad to think about. I waited so long and ended up wishing she’d just left it alone and never finished it.

Runners up for worst book in 2015: None. Really. I could only come up with one truly bad book this year, which is pretty awesome, actually.

Total number of NEW books read: 101 (74.3% of the books read in 2015, 9% decrease from 2014)

Total Rereads: 35 books (25.7% of the books read in 2015, 9% increase over 2014)

Total number of standalone books (do not occur in a series): 18 (13.2% of books read in 2015, 1.2% decrease from 2014)

Best New Series: This was surprisingly challenging this year. I ended up giving the title to the Neanderthal series (Neanderthal Seeks Human and Neanderthal Marries Human, by Penny Reid). This made me laugh and laugh and laugh. Ask Kelly’s kids, I was reading it the morning they stayed over, I was laughing out loud and they kept asking me what was so funny in my book.

Runners up for best new series:

Stage Dive series by Kylie Scott. I read the fourth and final in this series and it was another stellar installment.

Original Heartbreakers by Gena Showalter, for a series where all four installments were released in the same year (YAY! LOVE that!) this was surprisingly well written and engaging. I loved them all.

Off Campus by Elle Kennedy. I loved these books and the next installment is due out this year so it could win this category in 2016.

Most surprising book: I struggled with this category. Too many surprises this year. But the final honor goes to Reflected in You by Sylvia Day, as the second in the Crossfire series. I read the first, it was fine. Then I read this one and it was about the same people! Huge surprise. I assumed the second was about a new set of characters, as is commonplace. Turns out, the whole series is about this one couple. Unfortunately, I didn’t like them enough to read more, so I stopped at two.

Biggest Disappointment: Rogue by Julie Kagawa, this was a sequel to a book I really liked from an author I really like. I hated this book. It was just awful. Huge disappointment, enough that I won’t read any further in this series.

Runners up for biggest disappointment: Honeymoon Hotel by Hester Browne, this was touted as a terrific love story. It was so boring, a big letdown.

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan, this makes the list, not because it was bad, but because it was underwhelming. The Percy Jackson series, one of my all time favorite series, and the Heroes of Olympus series, are amazing books and stories. I expected so much more from this book.

Total number of print books read in 2015: 39 (28.7% of books read in 2015, 10% decrease since 2014)

Total number of electronic books read in 2015: 97 (71.3% of books read in 2015, 10% increase over 2014)

Most surprising statistic: Runners up for Worst book. There were NONE! I only read ONE bad book in the whole year, how surprising is that!

My final thoughts? I think it is super rare that I like so many books and dislike so few in a year, that’s usually a more balanced stat, but perhaps because I read so much less this year I was more selective? I don’t know, but it’s nice to look back on a year with so many books that I loved and would like to read again.

Monthly lists:

January

February

March

April

May

June

July

August

September

October

November

December

Annual recaps:

2014 Recap

2013 Recap

Leave a Reply

