January 2016 Books

Well, I feel like I’m off to a good start. I not only read well and recorded well to start the year, here I am updating the blog only 5 days into February.

January (19 books)

  1. November 9 – Colleen Hoover
  2. Imperfect Chemistry – Mary Frame^
  3. Imperfectly Criminal – Mary Frame^
  4. Country – Danielle Steel^
  5. Dumplin’ – Julie Murphy^
  6. Freefall – Tess Oliver^
  7. Clutch – Tess Oliver^
  8. Wait for Me – Samantha Chase^
  9. Trust in Me – Samantha Chase^
  10. Stay with Me – Samantha Chase^
  11. The Paladin Prophecy – Mark Frost^
  12. The Viscount Who Loved Me – Julia Quinn*
  13. Alliance – Mark Frost^
  14. The 5 Stages of Falling in Love – Rachel Higginson^
  15. Black Lies – Alessandra Torre^
  16. Rogue – Mark Frost^
  17. The Muse – Anne Calhoun^
  18. Stripped – Jasinda Wilder^
  19. Leaving Amarillo – Caisey Quinn^

There you have it, the 19 books I read to kick off the year. This was my highest January EVER! (ok, at least since I’ve been keeping track). In 2013, I read 10 books. In 2014, I read 15 books. In 2015, I read 5 books.

Interstingly, those correspond perfectly to my yearly totals of 155, 194, & 136. That’s not really enough data for a pattern, but we shall see if it holds true that January sets the tone for the year. In order for it to work, I’d have to read more than 194 books on the year. I guess only time will tell.

Now as far as the books. I read some great stuff this month. The Muse was an odd little story that I didn’t expect to like as much as I did. The 5 Stages of Falling in Love I just adored. That could make the finals at the end of the year. The Paladin Trilogy, (Paladin Prophecy, Alliance, and Rogue) was a terrific series I never expected. I enjoyed it thoroughly. A contender for best series, for sure! Dumplin’ was a surprising hit. A book I normally wouldn’t read but it got some seriously great reviews, so I tried it out and am so glad I did.

In the disappointing column, Country by Danielle Steel. I read DS when I was younger and while a few of her early books blew me away, I never liked her newer stuff. But I enjoyed the premise of this book and decided to read a DS novel for the first time in like 15 years. Mistake. It was not good at all. I’m surprised people still read her…..

But my favorite book was November 9. Colleen Hoover is an author I thoroughly enjoy. This was her latest offering. It was the first book I read this year and when I closed the cover, I hugged it to my chest and said, out loud, “this may well be the best book I read this year.” Kind of incredible on the first try. I loved that book so much I seriously wouldn’t be surprised if I reread it before the end of the year. Part me hopes it isn’t the best book of the year, because how sad that everything else is downhill.

So there you go. I’ve got a decent jump on February, as well, so I’ll see you after Leap Day to talk more books.

Year-to-Date (YTD): 19 books

Leave a Reply

