August 2016 Books

Well, September is upon us, which means it is time for fall, back to school, and my August book list. I’m not going to lie, I went a little crazy in August. I mean, every spare second, EVERY spare second, I was reading. I haven’t watched tv in ages. The fever had me and it showed in this month’s tally.

August: (37 books)

  1. 30 First Dates – Stacey Wiedower^
  2. Day Zero – Kresley Cole
  3. Poison Princess – Kresley Cole*
  4. Endless Knight – Kresley Cole*
  5. Dead of Winter – Kresley Cole*
  6. Paper Princess – Erin Watt^
  7. Broken Prince – Erin Watt^
  8. The Forbidden Wish – Jessica Khoury^
  9. Nuts – Alice Clayton^
  10. Cream of the Crop – Alice Clayton^
  11. Pretend You’re Mine – Lucy Score^
  12. The Wall of Winnipeg and Me – Mariana Zapata^
  13. Just Kiss Me – Rachel Gibson
  14. Six Month Rule – A.J. Pine^
  15. The Play – Karina Halle^
  16. P.S. I Like You – Kasie West
  17. Trust Honor Love – J.M. Witt^
  18. Marrying Winterbourne – Lisa Kleypas
  19. Winter Wishes – Karina Halle^
  20. The Lie – Karina Halle^
  21. Close to You – Kristen Proby^
  22. The Year We Fell Down – Sarina Bowen^
  23. The Year We Hid Away – Sarina Bowen^
  24. Blonde Date – Sarina Bowen^
  25. The Understatement of the Year – Sarina Bowen^
  26. Arcana Rising – Kresley Cole
  27. The Shameless Hour – Sarina Bowen^
  28. The Fifteenth Minute – Sarina Bowen^
  29. The Serpent King – Jeff Zentner^
  30. When Lightning Strikes – Kristin Hannah*
  31. Coming in from the Cold- Sarina Bowen^
  32. Falling from the Sky – Sarina Bowen^
  33. Shooting for the Stars – Sarina Bowen
  34. Him – Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy^
  35. Us – Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy^
  36. Bet on Us – Rachel Higginson^
  37. Bet on Me – Rachel Higginson^

First off, can we take a second and marvel at how freaking many books I read this month!?!?!? Prior to this my highest monthly totals were 26 in 2013, 32 in 2014, and 29 in 2015, followed by my June of this year, with 35 books! I thought 35 would be the permanent record, but then I surpassed it by TWO this month. So it seems silly to me to say that this might be the most books I’ll ever read in a month, but that is how it feels. But hey, it’s good to have goals, maybe one day I will read 40 books in a month!

Onto the books themselves, there’s a lot to talk abou this month, so I’ll start with Kresley Cole who writes my all time favorite series and I’ve been waiting two years for the next installment. First she put out a companion guide, Day Zero, which I really enjoyed, and then the book Arcana Rising, which I did enjoy. Elena did not. But I did. Not going to make best book of the year (she usually does win this, but definitely will not this year), but it was definitely a good installment to the series.

The absolute most interesting, shocking, different, cool thing I read this month (and likely this year) is the duology Him and Us by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy. Elle Kennedy I already know and like and I read Sarina Bowen’s backlist this month, all of which I enjoyed, so I decided to try these books that they teamed up on. And guess what? A huge shocker for me. Remember how I said I’m rarely ever surprised by books? Well, this surprised me because I didn’t know much about it, but it was a gay romance. Yes, really. Jamie and Wes, which I assumed was M/F when I read the description and was plenty surprised to find out I was wrong. But, turns out, I liked them both (the books, not Jamie and Wes, though I liked them, too), immensely. I’ve never avoided gay romance, but I’ve never sought it out, either. It was good. Then one of Sarina Bowen’s books was a gay romance, so I went from zero to three in this month alone.

Excluding repeats, which you already know I like, I liked nearly everything I read this month. It was an astonishingly good month of books for me. The only things that were flops are:

Just Kiss Me – Rachel Gibson, disappointing because I like RG a lot, but this book was not good.

Trust Honor Love – JM Witt, this was just a bad book. Terrible.

That’s it! The Wall of Winnipeg and Me and Pretend You’re Mine were not my favorite books, they weren’t bad, but even if I add them to this list, that is four out of 37 that I didn’t like. That’s a pretty good average.

So not only a ton of books, but a ton of good books. I’m just so happy about this month. Let’s hope the momentum keeps rolling into September. The first book I plan to read in September is the new Colleen Hoover, whom I LOVE, and wrote what is still holding as the best book of the year, the first book I read this year, November 9. This new book, It Ends with Us, may be the only shot at knocking her other book out of first place. Though knocking yourself out of first place to take first and second is a problem I think we’d all like to have.

Lastly, I have now read 136 books on the year. (Funny side note, I was telling my brother Zack about this and said my goal is 175…he is not a reader at all and said, “You can’t read 40 books before the end of the year!” and I said, “are you kidding because I almost read 40 books this month! and he said, “I don’t think I’ve read 40 books in my whole life”. Okay, maybe not funny, kind of sad, actually). I am on pace to read 204 books this year, which would be a new record. We will see what happens with only four months left to go.

Leave a Reply

